Day 21 - Dallas, Texas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 21 – Sunday – Dallas, Texas

Hi Y'all. I am lurvin' Texas. Hehhee.

So the adventure continues! This morning was an early start (lord I am looking forward to a sleep in!!) as Jess & I left for the airport at about 6:30. Agh. I flew from Austin up to Dallas.

By the way, all the flights I did were with Southwest Airlines (as per Jessica's recomendations) and I had nothing but good experiences in all three flights, and through all of the airports at New Orleans, Houston, Dallas & Austin.

I got in to the hotel at about 10:30am and promptly fell asleep for an hour or two while Dean did some laundry (bless him!). I dragged my butt out of bed to meet Garry & Yvonne for the afternoon/evening really unsure of what to expect. Dean had said it all went well the night before, but I had to admit I was a little nerve wracked at the thought of meeting a living breathing relative of Dean's (in fairness I did meet his Nan and Aunty up in Darwin, but that's just not the same y'know).

Anyway, any fears I had dwindled,
Boys will be boys!Boys will be boys!Boys will be boys!

This is when I said "pretend like you love each other" hahaha
and we were never short of anything to say. Garry is absolutley full of funny stories about Dean and their childhood. Dean is 9 years younger than Garry, and Garry always dragged him around on his adventures when they were younger and they were always getting in to mischief. And of course.....we talked MOTORBIKES!!!

It's funny even though Garry and Yvonne have been out here in the US for 15 years and dont think they'll ever come back to live, they still refer to Australia as "home". We also got to speak with their daughter (also a Sarah!) who is in the US Navy, and in training down in Florida. So that was cool.

We had some lunch (and bizarrely John & Jen walked in to the SAME restaurant, how freaky!), then Dean, Garry, Yvonne and I went to a shopping mall (everything really IS bigger here in Texas!) and then later to a bona fide Texan restuarant for dinner! All in all I think a great time was had by all 😊

Mean time, John & Jen made a trip in to Dallas and saw the place where X marks the spot (literally) where JFK was
AwwwAwwwAwww

A nice one of the brothers
shot, and checked out the grassy noll and all that.


"Dean's Details"He ain't heavy, he's my brother (well maybe he's heavier than me!!)







Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Ice SkatingIce Skating
Ice Skating

How cool, this is the ice skating rink in the middle of the shopping centre!
The three of usThe three of us
The three of us

Out at dinner
Proud ParentsProud Parents
Proud Parents

The bumper sticker on the back of Garry and Yvonne's car
OopsOops
Oops

Uh oh!! We got back to the car after dinner to find a flat tyre!
BB at X Marks the SpotBB at X Marks the Spot
BB at X Marks the Spot

Barners in front of the place where JFK was shot


21st May 2007

Hi! to both of you
You both must be having an absolute ball in the US and I feel as though I am too, just reading your travelblog. Keep having fun.
21st May 2007

Dean has no friends
Well on Skype the other day Dean asked me to write up a comment as none of his friends had written anything. He was starting to get worried that everyone would think he had no friends so begged for me to write something. So after all the sole searching and creative thoughfullness I could muster up I came up with the following: Sounds like your having a great time. Wish I was there. You guys really really suck lol. Keep on enjoying

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb