Chopping Insurance Corn


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
July 19th 2011
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Loading under a Chopper 41 secs
2: A typical farm road 49 secs
Chopping Insurance cornChopping Insurance cornChopping Insurance corn

With a following breeze
Here are some photos and a video of what we were doing yesterday. It was late afternoon (6:30pm) and there was a slow breeze coming from behind us. The consequence of this was that the dust and the chopped corn leaves were literally floating all around my cab and shining in the sun.

We load the 10 meter trailer in 3 parts. The photos were taken when the chopper is outside my driving window. You can't hear the noise on the video because I had my window closed because of the dust. When I have my window open the noise is deafening.

When I move forward so that the chopper can I load the back of my trailer, in these conditions I can't see where the chopper is (dust and sunlight) and have to rely on noise levels, glimpses of the chopper in the swirling dust or toots from the chopper driver for me to adjust my position. Initially a very nerve wracking process but now I know what to expect and make less mistakes. This is a culture where compliments a few and far between but abusive criticism is ever present.

Two toots for me to move forward and on toot to slow down. A long blast for me to stop immediately.

Bye for now.

I have also included a video of a section of the farm road we travelled over to get from the scale house to the field (5.5 miles or 9 kms one way) and back again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb