Now I'm a Tractor Driver


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
July 19th 2011
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Last week we were cutting Insurance corn in an area called the South Sedan. Insurance corn is where the farmer is writing it off and claiming it on their policy. We are chopping the crop or some of the crop to try and salvage some feed.

It's about 30 minutes drive from Dalhart towards the New Mexico boarder. After all the chopping was done. we then needed to move the service trailers and other machinery to the next location. I got the tractor and the merger. It took me 1 hour and 40 minutes to get from the field to the Dalhart yard.
A Merger is a machine that is about 20 wide and merges several rows of cut grass into one.

The tractor has more dials than I've ever seen. I dared not touch any one of them while I was driving for fear that, a) the merger would unfold while I was driving, b) the tractor would do something that I was not expecting and so on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb