Thursday


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dalhart
May 12th 2011
Published: May 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Thurs 12 May

6.30am My biggest accomplishment for yesterday was going to Subway for a drink on the way to work. No big deal you say, ah but for me this means leaving the safety of my known driving route, driving in unknown territory, taking a short detour, then having to handle cash for the first time. Oh well I guess it can only get easier. Btw had an iced green tea- large- about 900ml or so for less than $2! And the best thing is today I can take the cup back for a refill for only 50cents! Only in America!

Paul has been driving the swather (a giant lawn mower) rather than a truck. Hes the guy that goes through the field first and lays down the crop for the chopper to come through. Hes enjoying it so far except that it’s a very continuous bumpy ride and last night came home with pulled muscles in his lower back. Poor guy, this morning he could hardly walk let alone dress himself! Hope he has gotten on ok today.

I on the other hand spent the day in luxury and comfort in the airconditioned mansion. I love their kitchen and would like to take it and the pantry home with me (amongst other things). The pantry is bigger than my wardrobe at home and is stocked with everything I need and if it aint there they will get it for me. I can make whatever I like and after slowly showing my culinary skills Im not sure that they are going to let me home at all. Honey is almost on a daily basis, reminding me that our visas don’t expire until the end of January! I still reserve judgement on my true feelings for the place. Time only will tell…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb