After the Storms This Summer - My Life Continues


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Beaumont
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Confederate RoseConfederate RoseConfederate Rose

This time the only tree down and not a big one.
This year's storm season has been horrid for everyone here on the coast. Not all on this blog distribution list are from the coast of Texas.

I, luckily, have not had real damage from the storms, but have ran from each and spent money.

Our first threat of the season was a tropical storm named Eduard and I left my unincorporated community to run as far as a friend's in Beaumont. I have many trees, some still damaged from Hurricane Rita three years ago that could possibly come down on my head with a good wind storm. Eduard was a good wind storm and came in August 5th, 2008.

Next came Hurricane Gustav. Mandatory evacuation was called Sunday, August 31st and I had already ran to the Dallas area. The storm made landfall on the next day and I went home just after - Only to pack up a week later for Hurricane Ike. September 11th found me running back to the Dallas area and I was there until the 19th, the mandatory then lifted for my little corner of the world.

Work situations have been extremely different with the last storm. We were all but destroyed
Yard and little limbs Yard and little limbs Yard and little limbs

A mess but can be handled
rather than bothered with the elements.

Now, the weather has cooled and as much as I dislike cold weather, it will keep the Gulf storms away.

I have hurt myself (not badly but it hurt) doing cleanup after the last storm, I (we) missed having my birthday skydive and party. That hurt me more!

Now, I'm ready to party and have rescheduled everything (well, the jump is still 'in the air' if you will until I get in touch with them) for Saturday, November 15th!

A Birthday Babies' Bash email will be mailed to those on the ongoing distribution in a few days. There are many more of you that have had or will have birthdays soon. If you have not been receiving the BBB notices and want to be included, just let me know.

So here's a few pictures of life during and after the 2008 evacuations and I hope everyone is on the recovery from storms as well.





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Little car got left behindLittle car got left behind
Little car got left behind

but did fine - just pine straw covering it
Some tall trees that didn't fallSome tall trees that didn't fall
Some tall trees that didn't fall

and there's over a hundred of them
Lunch in Mesquite with a friendLunch in Mesquite with a friend
Lunch in Mesquite with a friend

Brandi is our friend and my son, Grant, met us for pictures
Son and friend at Brandi and Lance's weddingSon and friend at Brandi and Lance's wedding
Son and friend at Brandi and Lance's wedding

After the storms, I returned for a glorious wedding of beloved friends.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb