2012 Road Trip #2: 5 State Parks in 1 Day!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Bastrop
February 12th 2012
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

New Sweden Lutheran ChurchNew Sweden Lutheran ChurchNew Sweden Lutheran Church

Prettiest Church in Texas!
I decided to road trip on cold, dreary, ugly day. Feeling very confident, I decided to set the goal of visiting 5 state parks in one day. They all seemed to be pretty close on the map and I had recently gotten a state parks pass. I was eager to use it, so I set off on my own.

First stop was the fables New Sweden Church, otherwise known as the Prettiest Church in Texas. It really is pretty, especially as it rises from the pristine green farmland around it.

Next up was Bastrop State Park which had suffered some pretty harsh forest fires. A large part of the park burned but it was surprises to see so many pines survive. I can only imagine the beauty of the pine forest before the fires destroyed all the green. I'll make sure to make it back when its been revitalized. A short hop over is Buescher State Park, a small park with a small lake. You get a 2 for 1 deal whenever you buy entrance into either park.

Right after a quick stop for jerky and kolaches at Buccee's I arrived at Palmetto State Park, named after the
New Sweden ChurchNew Sweden ChurchNew Sweden Church

Out in the middle of nowhere.
dwarf palms that grow in its swampy tropical climate. The palmettos were interesting to look at as were the many vultures resting in the trees awaiting my death I guess.

Seeing the light waning I made a quick jaunt over to Lockhart State Park. There wasn't much in this park except for a nice little stream and gold courses.

I ended my day with a night view of the falls at McKinney Falls State Park. The trip took a lot longer than I was planning for but I made my 5 state parks goal....I guess!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Cows!Cows!
Cows!

I love relaxed cows just admiring their life of luxury.
Bastrop State ParkBastrop State Park
Bastrop State Park

Pines that survived the Great Fires of 2011.
Bastrop State Park Bastrop State Park
Bastrop State Park

Not even the fires could destroy them!
PalmettosPalmettos
Palmettos

The palms the park is named after.
BirdsBirds
Birds

Or vultures high up on the tree tops.
Lockhart State ParkLockhart State Park
Lockhart State Park

Party Center!
WaterfallsWaterfalls
Waterfalls

GIGANTIC!
McKinney Falls State ParkMcKinney Falls State Park
McKinney Falls State Park

Made it after dark! :(


Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb