Dreaming in Thailand


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Nashville
December 6th 2010
Published: December 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Suddenly, I'm driving in a car with someone who, for me, embodies all the shortcomings in my life. They are taking me to my camp in Thailand where the rest of my group is to be. Sharp, jagged boulders line the busy street and although seemingly impassible, the jeep we drive continues to make it's way along - it only feels slightly bumpy. All the while I am trying to understand how I already arrived in Thailand without having done any of the reading or research I've been thinking about doing. The panic-driven soggy sponge hanging low in the pit of my stomach frustrates me with more reminders about my lack of preparedness.

How could I have forgotten to do the reading?? There was so much I wanted to learn before I arrived...

We got to the camp and I found myself in a partially covered dirt-floor hut surrounded by much of the same with numerous strangers wandering about as though they all knew what they were doing -- I had no idea what I was doing. I searched for any kind of familiar face or name and found nothing.

Why didn't I do the reading??



Needless to say after I woke, I finished a book about the culture and customs of Thailand and today I ordered two more books...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb