Murfreesboro, TN


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Murfreesboro
November 9th 2006
Published: November 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Nashville's been good to me. I've been suprised by the people here, and my presuppositions have dissolved in the face of a population fed up with the status quo. Since it's election time, I've been able to overhear the local discontent with recent politics (though I imagine the feeling is not limited to this place). I will never think of Tennessee the same way after my days in Nashville.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



10th November 2006

The election
Yeah, how about those election results? I walked precincts for two women who lost -- Ferial Masry loosing to Audra-I-Hate-Public-Education-Strickland and Jill Martinez, a presbyterian minister who lost to Elton Gallegly. but I also made GOTV phone calls for Claire McCaskill and so got to talk to some very negative folks voting for Talent in Missouri, so I was elated when she won. I guess my fear is not that Peace and Understanding have won this election but that Bush and gang so thoroughly botched things that they lost it. But still in the struggle! Glad Tennessee is being good to you!
10th November 2006

Marilyn
Hi Marilyn, thanks for all the comments! I'm so glad to hear you were out there working for progress of humanity (namely, peace and understanding). Even though the candidates lost, it sure felt good to hear "Democrats win state X" over and over again in the background TV at a motel lobby or gas station. Even more of a relief was seeing the 80-year-old cowboy and chain-smoking clerk nodding in approval and talking (in not so many words) like a discontented LA college student would about the last couple years of leadership. People everywhere are ready fot change, they've just been too reserved (and duped) to say otherwise. What a learning experience this trip is. Thanks for always taking interest in what I'm doing! It sure makes life easier knowing people are following along.
10th November 2006

argh
dude it looks so boring there

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb