We Went! We Saw! We Returned...SAFELY!!


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Well, we made it home today after all. When we were heading into Kentucky and realized that we would be stopping for the night at 2:00, we decided to punt and head for home! As I said to a friend last night—I miss my bed but we have a comfortable bed in the RV. I REALLY miss my high speed internet!!


We pulled out of camp at 9:00 with...of course...our first stop being a nearby Walmart. The main reason for that stop was to check our tires to make sure we were OK before leaving the area where the shop that took care of us yesterday was located. Gun shy? Yes.
We were heading out from there at 9:30. There was very heavy truck traffic all the way home today. This is the most of that we have seen since we headed out I-40 towards Arkansas several weeks ago. Since we were still very aware of air pressure in our tires, we stopped on our way today at four rest areas to “knock-knock” our tires. We also checked them every time we stopped, and we tried to stop every 50 miles or so. Everything is fine so we are now putting the excitement of yesterday in the rear view mirror!


At 12:30 we made the call to head towards home. Since we had figured we would stop tonight, we had to rearrange our logistics and take care of some housekeeping chores before we got home. Thus we made a stop at a Flying J to take care of Mufasa’s hygienic issues...meaning using their dump station to the uninitiated! While John was taking care of that fun little RVing chore, I started putting things in baskets to carry in when we got home and generally straightening up the interior.


By 3:30 we were on the down hill drag heading to Mt. Juliet and pulled into the front of our house at around 5:00.


Thanks to all of you who have already welcomed us home. We had a great trip and more importantly a safe one. We have seen a lot and learned a lot as we always do when we travel. Having said that, I am putting this blog to bed. Thanks for going on our journey with us.
We have traveled close to 4,400 miles on this trip and averaged 10 MPG+.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

And yes...he is cleaning Mufasa...And yes...he is cleaning Mufasa...
And yes...he is cleaning Mufasa...

...even though we said we would wait until in the morning!


26th July 2018

welcome home
Thanks for "taking me" on your trip. Though I wasn't there in body I sure was in spirit. Brought back great memories of our similar trip a few years ago. Glad you are save and sound.
26th July 2018

Welcome home
Such a pleasure following you both on this fun and interesting journey. So grateful for the time you were able to spend with me. Love you guys, Carol
26th July 2018

You are welcome.
We loved seeing you too. We are sending hugs from Tennessee.
26th July 2018

That's a lot of gas!
I'm looking forward to your UK trip.
26th July 2018

Thanks for blogging
Thanks for sharing your trip. I really enjoyed learning about and seeing your pictures from Theodore Roosevelt National Park and Herbert Hoover site.
26th July 2018

Thanks Mike.
I really appreciated all your comments. It makes it more fun to blog when I get feed back. Enjoy Disney!
26th July 2018
One more state clicked off! Welcome to the Bluegrass State!

Beautiful sign.
When we travel, I always love to see that sign. We are glad to hear that you are home, safe & sound! ❤️❤️
26th July 2018

Thank you!
It was such a treat to see the trip through your pictures and commentary. I am so glad I was included in the blog........ and I am ESPECIALLY glad that you're back home safe and sound.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb