Day 5: Keystone - Deadwood - Spearfish


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Not much to report from today's trip I have to say!! It's been a pretty average day with no major adventures / issues to report.

The coach trip I'm on does feel very much like on a school excursion! Our tour leader, Bob, is an ex school Principle so as you can imagine everything is organised, we are counted on & off the bus and even told where to sit everyday so the same people don't bag the front seat!! (Isn't it strange when you're at school you always want to get on the back seat but as you get older you want to sit nearer the front?)

The one thing which I'm not enjoying about the trip is the early starts!!! Most days we have to have all our bags packed by 6.30am and we're on the road by 7.30am. This to me ISN'T a holiday!! I can't wait for Vegas when the tour finishes & can lie in past 7am.

Today we are in the state of South Dakota and won't be travelling as much as yesterday. We did 385 miles ysterday so are spending alot of time on the bus which obviously means not much time to get a tan! The weather is good if not a bit too hot - it doesn't half make you tired & I'm constantly wanting a mid afternoon nap. (Oh, by the way I'm feeling much better now & are back to eating!)

Our first visit was to Mount Rushmore which is the carving in the hills of the 4 US Presidents (Washington, Jefferson, Roosevelt & Lincoln). I have to say it is pretty impressive not only visually but the work that was required to make it across 14 years. I won't bore you with a history lesson but attached a couple of photos

We then travelled to Deadwood - think Wild West, Cowboys, Saloons then this is Deadwood. To be honest the town is pretty dead! The most exciting thing to happen was I was asked for ID to get into a bar!!! I was like - "are you serious" & laughing but the big bouncer wasn't seeing the funny side! So this did make my day that maybe I don't look over 21!

Anyway, we are staying at the Holiday Inn tonight & deliberating whether to have a swim tonight. Knowing me, I probably won't! Tomorrow is a busy day & will be doing a River Raft Trip down the Shoshone River. What I didn't realise when I booked the trip is you have to help paddle & are likely to get wet. Now Lou doesn't do paddling as it sounds like too much hard work!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb