Rapid City, South Dakota


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Day 6Day 6Day 6

This is what I saw most of the day, wide open road, straight as an arrow.
Last night I ended up staying with some missionaries from the Wolf Point formerly Mennonite church. The pastor, Bruce, offered me a place at the church or a place with these missionaries. There would be a bed with my name on it at their house, so of course I chose that one. I had a good time there as we sat and chatted for most of the evening. I thought it was a pretty cool experience because I don’t run into too many people that have been missionaries for 20+ years.

This morning I went to the church service, which was awesome. There was a group of Native Americans, I believe their organization is called the Hope Tour. It is a ministry for Native American youth and young adults, because there is much alcohol and drug abuse among teenagers and young adults, along with high suicide rates and other harmful activities. The people that travel on this tour give their ‘hope stories’, which are their testimony, but are geared for their peers and don’t use the word testimony because non-believers often times can be turned off by this phrase. These people go around and host gatherings and activities among the
Day 6 (1)Day 6 (1)Day 6 (1)

Random
Native American crowd, and attract all types of people and groups. The part that really touched me is they invite even the hardest and most cold-hearted people and often times reach the difficult people.

Tonight I arrived in Rapid City, South Dakota. I didn’t have a place to stay that was pre-arranged because I wasn’t sure exactly when I would leave Wolf Point. I made it into town after dark, and managed to find a Motel 6 for about $70 per night. I was just tired from traveling all day, and all I knew was a wanted a place to stay. When I left for my trip I figured I would have to get a motel for a few of the nights. I think once I get further east I will have more people that I know whom I can stay with.

Once I got the motel room I was pretty hungry, but it was nearly midnight. Most food options were already closed by then, so I was forced to find dinner at Walmart. Another catch was I didn’t have access to an oven or microwave. I did a makeshift meal and did lunch meat, an apple, a
Day 6 (2)Day 6 (2)Day 6 (2)

As artsy as I felt that day
smoothie, and a Clif Bar. It did the job, but not the most fulfilling meal I have ever had. I think even mac-n-cheese would beat this meal. But whatever, I can’t complain too much since I have some food and a roof over my head.

Ok, off to bed…



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Day 6 (3)Day 6 (3)
Day 6 (3)

I don't know why I took this photo...


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb