Photos of the RV Park in Oahe Downriver State Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Pierre
April 20th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

These are some photos of the RV Park where we are staying at Oahe Downriver State Park. It is one of three campgrounds located within the state park. It is campground #3 and is the smallest of the three. Since we are volunteers, we are on a site that has full hookups (electric, water and sewer). However, the only other site to have full hookups is the one which will be used by the Campground Hosts, all the other campsites have only electricity. The Campground Hosts are not here yet, but should be coming in around the middle of May. Since our electric hookup provides 50 amp service, we are able to use any and all appliances we choose at the same time - lights, heaters, washer/dryer, microwave, whatever. When there is only 30 amp service, there are a limited number of appliances that can be used at the same time. Speaking of heaters, we have sure had many opportunities to use ours along with our electric blanket. We have had many nights in the 20s and 30s and most days so far have been quite cool/cold and windy (lots of wind in South Dakota) ,plus we have also had quite a few overcast days and rain. About two weeks ago, we even woke up one Friday morning to snow, which lightly came down for several hours, although once it quit the snow did not stay on the ground very long. It actually looked like the snow was coming down sideways as the wind was blowing so strongly. I hate it that we have to bundle up in light and heavy jackets, knit hats, gloves, scarfs, long pants, socks whenever we want to go outside. Especially me since I mind the cold so much. I keep asking myself "What in the &$*@ am I doing in South Dakota this time of the year?" lol By now many of the trees are leafing out. We were told the large trees located throughout the park are cottonwood trees. There are also some cedar trees which do stay green year round and were the only trees that were green when we arrived. Over in the archery trail area there are many wild plum trees which now have flowers. They smell wonderful, in fact their scent reminds me jasmine. We were told the plums are quite delicious, but I am sure we will not be
Cabin on the Missouri RiverCabin on the Missouri RiverCabin on the Missouri River

There are five of these cabins located on the river in the campground
here to sample them when they get ripe as we will be leaving no later than June 15. As soon as we arrive in the parking lot each day to work on the trail, I can smell them. Trees leafing out, some plants putting out flowers, must mean spring is finally and slowly on the way. We have had a few locals tell us that spring is arriving late this year. It has been such bad and cold weather since we have been here, I was almost ready to pack up and leave a week or so ago, especially since we were out trying to work in it. But I finally decided I was not going to make myself miserable by working out in the weather when it is absolutely miserable, after all we are volunteers. The last day I worked out in such cold and windy weather I was miserable - my feet were like two blocks of ice (even with the insulated boots I had bought when we were in Mississippi), I couldn't stop shivering and my nose was running. Today is May 11, and so far there still have been very few campers, if any, here most days. Of course, this is the way I like it, not many people and very quiet and serene.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb