Mt. Rushmore and Searching for a Blue Sky


Advertisement
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The last time I was at Mt. Rushmore a couple years ago, the sky was that lifeless light blue which looks white in pictures. My most hated kind of sky for photos. With my new Sony camera and some time when not working, I was determined to get a blue skied photo of Mt. Rushmore.

This week, I was in Rapid City for close to two and a half days and it took me until the third day to finally get the pretty blue sky that I wanted. My first day in Rapid City, I arrived late in the evening so had the dull sky that I had on my previous trip. No go.

The next day, I was in meetings all day and knew I wouldn't be able to break away until evening so planned to go see the Lighting Ceremony instead. That's what I did that evening and it was very good. The opening speaker was a bit overly dramatic but the rest of the ceremony and seeing the Monument lighted was very cool. It had also cooled off quite a bit by the time evening came.

Finally, the next morning on my way out of town, I rushed over to Mt. Rushmore one last time and there was hardly anyone there when I arrived shortly after 8 am. Had a pretty blue sky for a background and finally got my photo. We were also greeted at the entrance by some wild goats! That was pretty unique as well. Did the Presidential Walk at the base of the Monument before the day heated up too much and then it was time to be off and head for home.

Maybe see ya next year, Mt. Rushmore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mt. Rushmore at NightMt. Rushmore at Night
Mt. Rushmore at Night

At the end of the Lighting Ceremony


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 98; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb