Upcoming 4-day Trial Walk


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Well, this fall I'll be off to Portugal to walk the Camino Portuguese. I've been walking 3 to 6 hours at a time, 1 to 3 times a week to keep me in shape, but felt I needed a little something extra. So, this Thursday, May 30th, I'm going to do a 4-day walk of about 64 miles all together, from my home in Simpsonville to Chimney Rock State Park. I was going to try a 21-mile a day walk for 3 days, but decided it was a bit much. In order to save money, but still keep it as realistic as possible, I'll the first two nights on the trail, so to speak. Thursday my wife will follow me to the Hertz airport garage in GSP, so I can leave my car there. I'll then return home and start my walk, ending my first day about 17 miles from home, at the GSP airport, and spend the night in my car there. The second day will be an 18-mile walk from there to my friend Richard's house who has graciously allowed me to spend the night at his house near Tigerville. I tried to find an inexpensive place to stay near Flat Rock or Hendersonville, but the cheapest thing I found was a motel at $75! Since my wife and my middle daughter Serena, with her family, will be staying at a campground near Chimney Rock Saturday and Sunday nights, one of them will pick me up Saturday afternoon, and return me to the same spot Sunday morning to finish the walk. I'll be treating this like a Camino walk, carrying a more of less normal weight backpack, eating meals at some place along the way each day, and making a blog entry each night, with photos.

I hope my readers enjoy my blogs and will follow me this fall, near the end of August when I do my 24-day, 360-mile, Camino Portuguese. Hopefully, my vampire buddy from the Camino Frances in 2017 will be joining me in Lisbon. See you in a few days.

Advertisement



26th May 2019

Camino Portuguese
Of course, I will be following you!
29th May 2019

Buen camino J.C.!!!

Tot: 0.458s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.2154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb