Sweet Carolina


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We couldn't head up the coast without stopping in the Carolinas. We initially stayed at the KOA (Exit 88, Gold Hill Road) so I would be near the medical facilities for a routine procedure which doesn't bare mentioning. Princess was at the height of flu-type symtons (in peoples terms) along with her dementia. On to more pleasurable topics.

One of the highlights of our stay for me was a visit to Continental the Americas, formerly Continetal Tire, formerly General Tire. My working days revisited, except they are in a modern, new building in Fort Mill, SC. Since I retired 6 years ago I was just expecting two or three friends to say "Hi" to. Joannie blocked out part of her morning to give me a tour of Customer Service. She replaced me as the Manager and is doing a wonderful job. SHOCKED AND AMAZED! That was me. One person after another came up and said hello. Some of them follow us on our blog (Bill, Diane, Lynn, Bernadette, Joannie, Donald,Mike.) All of them made me remember why it was so hard to retire. God blessed me by surrounding me with wonderful people during my career! I'm sorry to say that I didn't have my camera--which was their retirement gift to me--along for the trip, My bad!

Friday night, since we couldn't leave our little dementia-ridden beagle, Bernadette and her daughter Lisa stopped in and we tipped a few. Salute'.

We moved on up the road to Thousand Trails Forest Lake near Lexington and compared barbecue. We still prefer the Texas barbecue at Peter's in Columbus, Texas. And as Bill Stewart told me, "Probably won't be blogging about that area." Yep! But between storms I managed a picture of the historic tobacco barn on the property and the pioneer graveyard. Locals say the preserve is the former plantation of Davie Crockett! Headed to Gettysburg for the Fourth of July!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



26th June 2012

Sweet Carolinas
It was so GREAT seeing you. I hope you come back soon as I so enjoy visiting and talking with you. Friends are NOT overated, as you know who is. Safe traveling and hope you have an enjoyable 4th in Gettysburg.

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0704s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb