A Bit of Air Force Ministry


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

You may or may not know that as a reserve chaplain I am teaching at the USAF Chaplain Corps College at Fort Jackson, SC. I am the Course Director for the Chaplain Candidate course which welcomes seminary students into the Air Force as future chaplains. So, to be ready for the course in July I had to work a couple of days for the Air Force. It looks like our class retreat will be at Southern Seminary, my alma matter.
One of the things I appreciate most about my Air Force ministry is the collegial friendships that I have with other priests, rabbis, and pastors. There are two Catholic priests at the college who have given me some insight and suggestions for my upcoming trip to Rome. Father Dan Sweeney is a Jesuit Priest now teaching at Princeton. He went out of his way to make arrangements for Janine and I to see the "Scavi" burial chamber/catacombs under St. Peter's Basilica. We can't wait. Father Michael Padazinski (Monsignor) works for the Diocese of San Francisco and lived in Rome for 4 years studying Cannon Law. He says we should enjoy a gelato near the Piazza Navona.
Thank you Christ Jesus for my priestly friends. Amen.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb