I Heart Coffee


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I really do love coffee however love doesn't seem to capture exactly how I feel about a good cup of Java. There is something to be said for the slow brewing process that makes the perfect cup. The longer the process, the more I am truly satisfied. Mike calls me a Coffee Purist considering I shy away from the all-inclusive grinder/drip methods. Once I went French Press, I never went back.

My co-workers have seen this morning ritual all too often. My French Press waits for me each day. Boil the water, allow the fresh grounds to get absorbed, all essential oils being released, 5 minutes later, press and Voila - the perfect cup is created. Maybe it's the anticipation that makes me enjoy it more - who knows.

I was very impressed on a recent trip to Costa Rica when we went to visit the famous Cafe Britt coffee factory. The tour was very educational and just when I thought I couldn't enjoy coffee any more than I already do, I was amazed at how much this simple tour increased my appreciation for this gift from the gods.

Never before did I realize that coffee was first
Cafe Britt Tour - HarvestingCafe Britt Tour - HarvestingCafe Britt Tour - Harvesting

$30 for a full barrel of berries.
discovered in Ethiopia. That it made its way over to the Middle East and when it got to Europe was almost condemned by the Catholic Church for being the “Drink of the Devil”. Apparently the Pope liked coffee and decided it was ok for consumption. No comment....

I also learned that each coffee bush produces small berries. Within each berry are 2 coffee beans. Apparently the berries must be manually harvested because the berries do not ripen at the same times. Local coffee pickers get about $30 for one full barrel of berries. That's a lot of berries and lots of manual labor! Once the berries are picked, they have to be roasted within 72 hours. If they sit for longer than that, they start to break down - hence bad coffee. It was also nice to hear that Costa Rica requires their coffee companies to recycle their waste which results in the making of coffee paper and other natural products.

If you're ever in San Jose and you enjoy coffee, I would recommend taking the tour at Cafe Britt. It was a little on the expensive side, however very educational. I never realized how lengthy the process of good coffee cultivation was nor did I realize that coffee that's not so good, is usually because corners have been cut.

I warn you however, once you learn of this knowledge and taste Costa Rican coffee, other coffees will not taste the same. You will officially be "ruined" for Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts. Jamaican and Hawaiian coffees are however still palatable and you’ll catch yourself on the Internet trying to see how much it would cost to import coffee directly from CR. For the co-workers that have become Costa Rican coffee addicts, my apologies although I understand completely. My poor parents are even now ruined for any other types of coffee. Consider yourself warned...

Costa Rican coffee is probably the best coffee I've ever had. It's pretty bad when Mike and I bring extra luggage on our vacations just to stock up. How nice it's going to be to have CR coffee at my fingertips at all times. For that alone, I need to go. Bottom line, I never realized so much went into a good cup of coffee and I look forward to having time in the mornings to truly sit back, smell that wonderful coffee aroma and enjoy.



Advertisement



20th June 2006

Returning home with a suitcase of coffee
Enjoyed your first entry. Your adventures remind me of our own. Packed up in '89 and moved to Maui from Drexel Hill. It must be somethign in the good quality coffee beans. We like certain coffees so much have traveled to Jamacia for the sole purpose of returning home with 20 pounds of Blue Moutain Coffee. Only learned of Costa Rican coffee earlier this year when as a token of appreciation a client dopped some off at the house. Now have the same list of 3 favorites as you, Blue Mountain, Kona and Costa Rican. Have a wonderful adventure with your leap of faith. We did and are heading back home to Maui this year as Mike is aware. Look forward to reading more of your blog and hope to see the start of high school rugby in Costa Rica reported there soon. Aloha nui loa

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb