great new way to learn important lesson


Advertisement
Published: April 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Im sure everyone has some kind of seminar or speaker in high school that comes to talk to the class or the whole school about drunk driving. I remember before each prom, my school would have a speaker and basically it was someone who had survived a drunk driving accident and whose friends had died. There were also photographs that the speaker included in his or her talk. This was always very emotional and shocking and definitly got the point across. When I was home for spring break, my brother, who plays hockey for his high school team and travel team, told me about a game he played against a team of paraplegics. The kids on this team were in their late teens, the same age as my brother. They were all paralyzed from the waiste down and used ice picks in their hands to get themselves down the ice on sleds. My brother's team had to do the same and since they had never played hockey like this, got beaten badly. Obviously, my brother's team was not able to mvoe themselves down the ice as quickly and easily as the other team. Regardless of the fact that my brothers ab and arm muscles were sore for a few days after, he said he had a lot of fun. However, this was not the only point of the game. One of the boys on the team of paraplegics was paralyzed in a drunk driving accident. My brother's coach put this game together to show them what it would be like to be paralyzed and not be able to play their sport like they had for the last 10 or 15 years. I thought this was such a great idea because it really put into perspective what these kids had to lose and only one example of how hard life would become as a result of drunk driving.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb