Classical Music


Advertisement
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sonata RecitalSonata RecitalSonata Recital

This is a picture of me and my friend in high school. I'm on the violin of course.
Over spring break I attended a Viola/piano recital and with all the digitally touched up music there is out there, for a split second, I almost forgot how great live performances really are. Going for nearly two weeks without orchestra rehersals and being apart from my instruments and sheet music, I really felt the an emptiness. During the extremely long ride home I listened to my IPOD as it played the classical music that I craved to play. The music on my IPOD will always remind me of my love and passion for classical music. The role that industry plays is, without mp3, cd, cassette, and radios, music would not travel as easily as it does.

During the way home I remember listening to Beethovan's Chorale 9th symphony and it is truly amazing. No matter how catchy popular music can be, I will not abandon my classical music because they truely are classics. I feel as though all music is derived from it and without it, music theory and chord progressions would not exist.

Everytime I listen to the chorale, I think to myself... this is the piece I want to conduct before I die. It inspires me to
Sonata RecitalSonata RecitalSonata Recital

This is a picture of me and my friend in high school. I'm on the violin of course.
continue my musical studies and makes me want to become a musician. If only I weren't so darn practical and my parents wouldn't disown me through it, I would.

Beethoven's Symphony No. 9 ‘Choral' The 9th Symphony is an amazing piece of music. From the slow opening, to its quick ascent to a powerful clash of instruments, the entire piece is captivating. The incredible part about the entire piece is that from the beginning to the end there is a contrast between the cresendos and decresendos, always dueling for time. Either there is a strong controlling element running through the music or there is a soft easy melody. The dualism between the brass and lower string instruments playing in contrast to the woodwinds makes for an interesting listen. Each time that I have listened to this piece I always hear different parts(voices) that I have not heard the time before. The trouble I have with the piece is I have a hard time listening to the piece as a whole. Instead I end up hearing either the high pieces or the low pieces, rather than being able to capture the two together as interconnected pieces. Yet, with the excerpts
Recital HallRecital HallRecital Hall

Can you guess which recital hall this is in the state of NY?!
that I have been able to connect the two parts, their differences help unite them into an incredible piece of music. From the onset of the symphony, it appears that the entire piece is based around the conclusion, being Ode to Joy. It seems like everything is just getting ready to build and build into the climax. There being smaller climaxes along the way, but for the most part it is solely preparing the listener for Ode to Joy. The exciting part about the entire piece is that at no time does the listener become lulled into the music and become withdrawn from the music, rather the listener is always attentive to the music waiting and expecting the next note or phrase, wondering what the composer and conductor have in store.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Find meFind me
Find me

My high school orchestra at a side-by-side rehersal with the Philly Orchestra... can you find me?
TrioTrio
Trio

Sight-reading and improv. trio music
CDsCDs
CDs

stack of CDs currently on my desk


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb