Pre-Service Training


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!

So I just finished up my pre-service training today....It was peachy. There are 22 of us leaving for Malawi tomorrow. Most are around my age, in their early/mid twenties, but not everyone. I am only one of three licensed nurses going, but everyone leaving will be contributing to improving the health of Malawi.

I thought that I would post something on here tonight since I will be out of communication for the next 8 weeks! Tomorrow I will be leaving JFK on a 16 hour flight to South Africa, and Monday I will hop on a plane for Malawi!! Happy Memorial Day!

Anyway, for any of you who do not have my address, it will be:

Peace Corps,
Box 208
Lilongwe, Malawi

Remember, it takes about 4-6 weeks for letters to get there (as long as you write on the envelope 'Air Mail'), and 2-6 months for packages (Bubble envelopes take less time and money to send apparently). Don't send postcards because they will just end up on the post office wall in Malawi. Put them in envelopes. After I am sworn in with my bike and cell phone (they issue us cell phones!! Though it will be mostly for text messaging to other Peace Corps Volunteers), I will probably have internet access at least once a month.

However, I only have 1 or 2 addresses from people, so start writing now because I won't get your address until you send me something! :o)

Oh, and I posted some pictures from Philly. And, I am happy I saw Indiana Jones with Britt on Wednesday night for the midnight showing, even though I didn't like it as much as I would have hoped...

And the hotel here is awesome. I guess the Peace Corps wants us to have something nice before we live in our little mud huts...

I will post again when I can!


"The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps."


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Lecture RoomLecture Room
Lecture Room

Note the lovely projects on the walls...we did a lot of those.


24th May 2008

This is soooo exciting!
Your courage is amazing. Your determination and tenacity are memorable. I am so proud of you! Always!!!
24th May 2008

Just let me know if you need anything.
Let me know as soon as you can what you forgot so that I can put it in the mail. Also those boots probably won't fit in bubble envelope. Miss you so much already. Please don't go out alone at night.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb