Sushi


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I checked another item off of my list of things to experience: sushi!

I went out for lunch with one of the other EPA interns, my friend Mia. We hiked across Philly to go out for real sushi, but our intended lunch spot was closed. We finally found another place...a tiny sushi bar that was actually run by the owner. This place only seated 8, so we had to wait for our turn at the bar. Mia, my sushi guide, ordered us a great assortment so that I could taste bunch of stuff. Raw fish. Hummm...after ordering we realized that I have never had this, so would I even like it? Good question! Well, this was a jump-in-with-both-feet experience, so I was going in hoping the best.

The sushi was prepared right in front of us and it was amazing to watch. The cooks (chefs? sushi preparers?) were expertly slicing through the cold raw meat, and creating absoultly beautiful dishes. Our plate was a work of art. Spicy tuna rolls, salmon rolls, eel rolls, tuna, salmon and yellowtail sashimi (this is basically just slices of raw fish), and then slices of red clam and crab sticks. While we were waiting for our food, a guy sitting next to us offered me and Mia each a piece of his sushi...a special roll in the house. It was my first bite, and I was really hoping that I would like it. I love cooked fish, but raw it is a different thing altogether.

I took the beautiful, multi colored Birthday roll...white tuna, salmon, tuna, avacado, cucumber, and pickled radish wraped in pink soy paper...with my chopsticks and went for it. It was amazing! I was eager to try more!

Our plate was full of all sorts of amazing looking food (remember the elegant presentation, I was blown away. We wished we had a camera). My favorite was actually the tuna sashimi and the eel rolls.

Well, I give sushi a two thumbs up, and cannot wait to try some back on the West Coast. Seattle sushi, here I come.

And if you are ever in Philly and itching for some amazing sushi, be sure to check this place out:

Vic Sushi Bar...2035 Sansom St, Philadephia, PA...Tel: 215-564-4339

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb