Back to college....for real this time!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Pennsylvania » Glenside
January 30th 2008
Published: January 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Towards the end of my semester in London I began to look forward to returning to Glenside, PA to continue school. My home school is Arcadia University. This spring was going to give m the 'real' college experience. London was amazing, don't get me wrong, you could probably tell if you read any of my previous blogs. The culture, the city, running through hyde park, traveling to far away places. These are things i will hold close to me for the rest of my years. These, however, did not contribute to the real college experience.

When i think of the college experience, I think about waking up ten minutes before class and running across the green grass of campus to get to your math class. I imagine the college fashion as sweetpants, flip flops, and sweatshirts. My contact case will collect dust in the drawer and my glasses will be shown off again for the first time in years. My hair will probably be throw back into a pony tail as im running to this math class. I image the college 15 from the amazing and easy to reach cafeteria....and the recognition of students who are also running along side of you to get to math class...or psych...

Things started out great. My roomate was awesome, and we got along so well. I even loved her boyfriend, he was crazy and we all got along swimmingly. Until she decided to drop out of college. So now I have this jumbo room to myself. Which is good and bad. First of all...I have two closets, can we just acknowledge this? and two sets of drawers and desks...and beds. Ok so its a little overcrowded in here. Me and my alter ego live quite comfortably. The bed, which isn't made into a couch yet looks depressing as just a plastic mattress hat holds the box for my guitar hero. The downfall of living alone..? You're alone. I'm hapy with my 'me' time. It gives me time to think, and do my work, and listen to whatever music i like, and talk to my boyfriend whenever I want. But, at the end of the day, i'm alone. There is no default person to go to lunch with, or talk to until I fall asleep. It's the equasion where the only solution is becoming a loner. But I think I'll be just fine.

The charm wore off pretty quickly to school already. I'm three weeks in and totally settle and ready to conquer the world. But I can't because ya know, I'm not allowed to validate my student card yet. I can't get into shape to conquer the world, because the teeny-tiny gym is alwyas packed and I can think of 5 machines off the top of my head that DO NOT WORK! THe most exciting part of the weekends here is watching tumbleweed blow across campus. (There isn't actually tumble weed. I am trying to paint the picture of an empty campus.) Ok....that was a good vent session, but what college student doesn't have some gripes with their school?

Classes are really good. I'm impressed. Although I feel a little superior in my math class, thats the one class I'd rather not be challenging haha. Well, maybe not, i do love math and a good challenge! I would have to say my favorite class is my Globalization, Development, and Human Rights class. It's so interesting! I have Intro to International Studies and thats good but I like the globalization class better. THey are both taught by the same teacher, which is good because she is amazing. She teaches us from reading novels for the class instead of textbooks...and I'm thankful for that, plus I feel like I learn more from it.

I decided to start a new lazy, mindless hobby. Guitar Hero. I don't own playstation, or WII, or Xbox or anything like that...but I do own a computer. After playing it twice I realized how much I needed this game. So I gave in and spent almost a hundred dollars on this game for my computer. I impatiently wait a week for this. I don't think you clearly understand how I mean impatiently until you talk to any of my friends....I was a wreck until this package came. When it came I was like a little kid running to my room with a box taht didn't easily fit through doors haha Unfortunately when I hook it up to my computer my computer yells at me and says "oops...screww you you're video card doesn't support the game" How depressing! The one time I actually want to waste my money on a video game and it won't even work on my very expensive, five month old computer. I was very sad....I'm still very sad actually haha I was really looking forward to wasting hours of my time with my eyes glued to the screen playing Guitar Hero...seeking star power...and beating songs on expert (by expert I mean easy....maybe medium)

I am officially starting the diet again today...aftering eating about 5000 calories in the past day. (last night and this morning) I have just under three weeks until I go to florida....I'm not ready for the bikini...or anything less than sweats! haha So I'm finding the best times to go to the gym (the weekends when everyone goes home) and trying to resist the deliciousness of the cafeteria (use takeaway boxes and eat in the chat instead) It all seems easy enough in theory, but lets see where I am come February 20th.

It's been almost a month on campus, and I've settled in. I've adapted, i've changed, i've learned a little something. There have already been some challenges and obstacles but I'm doing ok. I had my down period where im thinking maybe this isn't for me...but who seriously enjoys school 100% of the time...no one! And if you're saying you love school every second of the day....well, you're a bigger nerd than me and i applaud you haha

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb