Memorial Day weekend 2007


Advertisement
Published: May 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Delaware RiverDelaware RiverDelaware River

Crossing the pedestrian bridge by Black Bass Inn

Memorial Day weekend was all about one of my best friends getting married - a destination wedding in New Hope, PA. Wonderful wedding aside, I had not realized New Hope was so near where I used to live in Somerset County, NJ (barring traffic, it's only a 30-minute ride... go figure).

I stayed at the New Hope Inn, off Rte 202 (formerly Best Western). If you go to other travel review sites like Trip Advisor or Virtual Tourist, the former BW was panned by many users. Thus, I came prepared by bringing my own pillows and beddings. In the end, I didn't them. My stay was fine for a two-star joint and the nightly rate was very reasonable. And, I used their beddings without incident or alarm. New Hope offers a variety of bed-and-breakfasts, but in my humble opinion, those are more suited for couples, rather than singles. And, they're also more expensive.

Downtown New Hope offered many eclectic, yet pretentious offerings (again, IMHO). On Sunday morning, I didn't know any better than to wander downtown before 10am. All eateries were closed. I wound up at Lulu's, a nice outdoor cafe south of the main intersection. While you like won't read about Lulu's in a New Hope tourist guide, the food was actually pretty good. The place seems very popular with bikers. But, service is very slow!

The Landing is apparently the most popular place to grab a drink in the town, but because of lack of parking (also, very expensive), we wound up around the corner on more than occasion at Triumph Brewery. If you've been to Triumph in Princeton, you'll enjoy the same experience in New Hope.

New Hope and points north and south along the river offer many opportunities for cycling, walking, and running. If I had more time, I certainly would've taken more pictures but I settled for walking across the pedestrian bridge by the Black Bass Inn/Hotel (3 miles north of downtown) onto an island where Pennsylvanians and Jerseyans alike go to outdoorsy stuff.

We also checked out Sandcastle Winery - 2 miles further north from Black Bass. While the building seemed relatively new, the vintners offered 3 quality wines - Cabernet Sauvignon, Alpine Spice (can be served hot or chilled; like flavored tea), and a Late Harvest Johannesburg Riesling. They had other selections, but I found those so delicious I bought a bottle of each.

Though I had a great time with friends, I can see myself going back for a day trip, but I wouldn't go there for a weekend getaway unless there was another special occasion.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb