The first 500 miles ...


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The America Bed The America Bed The America Bed

Nice to be welcomed to America with a first night in Stars and Stripes
We split up after landing in Chicago. My wife and 3 kids went to take a connecting flight to the Philly area, while I sat outside O'Hare on the curb waiting for the CoachUSA bus to the South Bend. Oh how I love America air. Even though it wasn't a particularly great day, the brisk fresh air was so refreshing.

The bus took a few hours and it was wonderfull to see our good friends in Elkhart. They had the America Bed (see the picture) all made up and ready for my arrival. They also had spruced up the van, 4 new tires, new distributor cab, wires, and an oil change! What a blessing!!! (i found myself taking time to just praise the Lord out loud for blessing us with such phenomenal friends on the drive today!)

Climbed in bed around 1:15am and quickly drifted off to sleep, but in great jetlag fashion was up again a little after 4am. So had some breakfast, tried to activate my USA cell phone, hugged our friends and started driving.

The van is great. And with the exception of being a bit thirsty it was very pleasant to drive. I am
Rest stop in the PA MountainsRest stop in the PA MountainsRest stop in the PA Mountains

Took a nice walk around this rest stop. The pines/cedars among the leafless trees were really peaceful
looking forward to all the memories to be built in it over the next 12,000 miles!

Aware that jetlag might creep up on me, I did stop every 100 or so miles to walk around a rest stop and stare at the map in the information center with the other tourists. It drizzled most of the way, making things seem rather bleak. Hard to tell if it was the rain, the areas I drove through, or the economic crisis that happen in the 2 years since we have been gone, but it did seem like there were a lot of abandoned/dilapidated/burned out houses along the way?

After just over 11 hours on the road, I arrived at my brother's place. He got home from work and started a roaring fire in his fireplace ... ahhh now I am just trying to fight off sleep until a reasonable hour ... but 6 or so hours of sleep in the last 48 is starting to sdkfjskdf dckvjcv. .. ... .zzzzzzzzzzz

Back awake 😉 I forgot I wanted to add a recommendation for one of the books I really enjoy that I listened to again on my drive: G.K. Chesterton's
Memory MakerMemory MakerMemory Maker

Our wheels for the journey. It averaged about 11 miles to the gallon the first 500 miles, but has lots of great room for the family and runs great!
"A Man Called Thursday" check it out for free at: http://www.manybooks.net/titles/chestertetext99tmwht10.html

Advertisement



16th March 2011

nice one
glad to hear you arrived safely. That first breath of air outside China is sweet isn't it? The van looks awesome. that's the kind nicola would like us to get- a Mr T vehicle :)
21st March 2011

Godspeed
Wishing you an adventure of a lifetime....good health and safety. A great pryr warrior suggested starting your day with psm 91!

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb