Oregon coast


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon
July 7th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

30th June 2006 - 4th July 2006


The only planning I did for this trip was reserving a campsite. (We could not camp during memorial weekend as we had not reserved a site earlier—so, lesson well learnt). Everything else was vague. Very Vague! I hear people say all the time “ Just take the car, have a map and set out…That kind of trip is generally more eventful as you don’t know what to expect”. So, we were going to do that and see for ourselves.


We had no events planned earlier at all. In fact, I did not know there was anything to do. Just a couple of days to leave and Judy from RoadtripAmerica (RTA) gives me this list of places to see….!!! So many, you won’t believe. How was I going to fit all of it in 3 days? I made a quick note in my handheld and tried to find more info. Gosh! Wish I had known earlier…yes, I did feel something close to that.


30th morning we went to the Hertz behind our home to rent a compact car. But just minutes, we missed out on a Mazda3. All they had was a Chevy Aveo…There was no way that trunk could hold our entire luggage. I was so psyched. We had to go for an intermediate Mazda6 (at a higher rate, of course)... Ok…Now, I am getting paranoid! Beginning is not too good. How the trip is going to be? My husband was very positive though.


We planned on starting at 5 pm. But could not start well before 7 pm. I remember us getting into some traffic on I 880, but otherwise, things were okay. We took turns driving and reached our first stop, Sundial bridge, Redding at 11:20 pm. The bridge was considered closed at midnight. It was late. But we saw so many people hanging around there. I got excited. Finally, we saw this bridge. I’ve heard so much about it. It is a very beautiful bridge across Sacramento River and the bottom is all glass. There is a small trail that took us under the bridge. We got some good shots before the lights went off, telling us it was midnight.
We drove until Weed (around 2 am) and halted for a nap in the rest area until 6:30 am or so.


Next morning, after breakfast, we set off. From California to Oregon caves national monument. It was real fun. Weather was good. We took a 1.5 hr tour of the cave. For a couple of seconds, our guide turned down the lights to show how dark it was. I would have become claustrophobic if I was in that dark any longer. Grocery stops at Wal-Mart, followed by lunch stop at the next rest area. It was hot. We still had a long way to go and pushed it up a notch.
After a really long drive we reached Portland, took Rte 84 east. Stopped now and then for viewpoints at the Willamette falls and Mt. Hood. Multnomah Falls was another stop. We stopped by the Oneonta gorge but realized we did not have enough time. Some other time. Maybe. I was so happy to see exit 76 at last to get into Memaloose State park. All the sites were filled up. We could see the Columbia River from our site-B10. After a quick shower we were all set. We tried to take a small river walk, but no access. It was so warm and nice. I will remember that feeling for a long time. It felt good.


We were going to head to the coast on 2nd morning. 84 W all the way into Portland. We stopped by the downtown for a while and then hopped onto 26 down to Cannon beach. It was a nice drive. I remember the downtown being very lively. It was very cold then with all that afternoon fog. We had lunch there and a short stroll along the beach, near the haystack. It was very cold and windy, but very beautiful.


We got back to 101 again and were heading to Tillamook after stops at viewpoints, here and there. Lots of beautiful beaches. Tillamook cheese factory had the best ice cream I’d ever tasted. I remember having a double scoop, Tillamook mudslide and butter pecan. Mmm…yummy! The packing team was having a long weekend, so we did not catch on much activity. Boy! They make a lot of cheese.


We took a quick detour to Cape Meares lighthouse. The same place had an Octopus Spruce tree. The wind was picking up and we had to go a long way. A real long way. But still we knew we were not going to come back there again. So, we still stopped over at Heceta & Yaquina lighthouses, a snapshot at the Newport Bridge and off to William Tugman State park around 10.30 pm. Yes! It was so dark that we could not see our site properly. There was someone at C-13(our site). We were very tired, but still we could make out that they did not have a reservation and were trying to set up their stuff. I felt really sorry for them. It was dark and it was a bunch of people (even 2 kids). Too bad that they had to go away.


We had a quick dinner and immediately went in our sleeping bags. Too tired to even think. Tomorrow would be a lot better. There is always the hope.


Next day we got up to chirping of birds, though I did not see them until we left from there. Mornings always rings hope and surprises to me. This morning is no different. We just came out of the tent to see where we were. Lots of trees, beautiful people jogging around, fresh morning air, maybe a little fog also. God! I love camping.


We decided to take it slow. Our first stop was Umpqua lighthouse
Under Sundial bridgeUnder Sundial bridgeUnder Sundial bridge

After lights went out at midnight
(people who are wondering why so many lighthouses, FYI, my husband is crazy about them). We could see dunes everywhere. Heck! We were in the Oregon Dunes area. And we saw someone on an ATV. My husband wanted to do it just then. So, we headed to the dunes area where a volunteer informed us about Frontier ATV rentals. We wanted to rent ATV vehicles on our own. But they advised us to take the tour instead(not so safe for first-timers). So, we took the sand rail adventure tour after almost an hour wait. We had no clue how it was going to be. Then I heard a driver mention roller coaster ride. I was like, “Did he say roller coaster?” That was because; I’ve never wanted to be on one. I don’t mind the speed, but I really am not very comfortable going down and then immediately up in that high speed. Our driver, Jason, told that he would take it cool. He kind of boosted up my confidence. Result: 30 minutes of some serious fun. I could see him go only 30mph, but the wind, the sand, it was crazy. It was so much fun. And it paid to sit
Weed Rest AreaWeed Rest AreaWeed Rest Area

Our 1st night halt- trucks along I5. We were too tired to be disturbed by them.
in the front. Thanks to my husband who sacrificed the front seat for me. I would recommend it to anyone, even the one who has fear of speed. Of course, be prepared for a complete sand bath.


We wanted to turn back at Florence. So, I think we stopped next at Heceta lighthouse. It was very close to Sea Lion caves. I am not a big fan of stinky animals. But my husband really wanted to take me in. So, there we were watching 250 sea lions basking in the sun. Then we took the elevator 200 ft down to the actual cave. It was kind of dark and sea lion smelly. The exhibits they had were pretty good, though.


It was almost time and we wanted to get back home early to leave early the next day. We stopped at a local Dairy Queen for an ice cream. It was good and heavy.


We headed straight home around 8:00 pm. We a peek at Eel lake at our campground. We knew we had a long day ahead and a most awaited jet boat ride.


We wanted to get up at 5:00 am. But,
Angel falls, OR caves National MonumentAngel falls, OR caves National MonumentAngel falls, OR caves National Monument

The result of torching UV rays on one of the formations inside.
I got up at 4:30 am. What woke me up? A sound from high up in the sky. Thunder! rumbling in the distance. It started to rain. We were still sleepy and it took a while before Ganesh rushed out to cover up stuff we left out. Too late. All wet!
We could sleep no more. But now the thunder was right above us. We waited it out and then got ready to leave.


We stopped at Coos bay for a quick breakfast. Then off it we went until we stopped at Bandon. Well! Bandon seemed to have a lighthouse (ugh!) and in the event of pursuing it, we came to a beautiful beach. I was so glad my instinct took me there. For anyone going there, get into old town, take the discovery drive to your right and another right on Madison. There you are at this beautiful beach. Gorgeous!!!


Another quick stop at Face rock viewpoint and it was time to get to Gold beach for our Jet boat tour. Still a couple miles away and I got behind a bunch of slow moving vehicles. God bless those, who made passing lanes there. There was no way, we could make it on time otherwise. Southern Oregon was so much more beautiful. Wish we had more time. Maybe we will get back there some other time.


We got to Gold beach just in time. With the ATV experience both of us were expecting for some speed. There were a couple old people in the jet. So, maybe our pilot didn’t take so many twists and turns. It was a nice experience, but I doubt if I would go another time. Too slow! We Got back on land around 4:00 pm. They told that there was a lottery and the winner can take a souvenir photo home. We anyways wanted to buy the snap. I was so surprised to see my name on their board. We had won. We got the photo all framed up. What a way to end the trip!


All excited and a lot hungrier, we started our drive back home. There were discussions, whether to take I5 or 101 back home. But my husband stuck to 101 and so we started driving. We did make more stops at couple other viewpoints along the coast. We anyway knew that we were going to be late. We had time to cross the redwoods in daylight and it was amazing. With all that fog, the leaves were bright and green. We got a scenic drive back home, but missed out on the July 4th fireworks. We were too tired anyways. I drove into bay area and was surprised not to find fog in San Francisco. Night couldn’t have been clearer. I was too sleepy by then. So, my husband took over the steering. Only when we got home did I realize that I had slept for 30 minutes. :-)
Reached home safe and sound at 2:00 am. Too tired to fill my stomach, I crashed.


After 6 hrs of sleep, Ganesh had to get to work and I had to get to all that unpacking. :-(
All is well that ends well.

In all, I think we covered close to 2000 miles. The car did not make us feel the drive.
I heard someone say earlier “When God created the Oregon coast, he decided to dwell there”. I am sure He is still there. So much beauty!


Bon voyage,
Travelbuffs





Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Heceta BeachHeceta Beach
Heceta Beach

Near the lighthouse
Memaloose campgroundMemaloose campground
Memaloose campground

Near Columbia gorge
Cannon beachCannon beach
Cannon beach

Haystack
Steam EngineSteam Engine
Steam Engine

We ran to catch this shot; The train was about to leave...
Helen LakeHelen Lake
Helen Lake

Umpqua lighthouse


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 24; qc: 120; dbt: 0.1246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb