A tourist in bay area


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

one of a kindone of a kindone of a kind

Rainbow behind half dome at sunset
My friend, Deepa, had come over from NC and we had planned "ladies day out". My husband was more than happy to let go of our car(and me, of course) for 2 days.
I am meeting her after 2003, I guess. She shifted companies & a little while later, I got married and came to US. She joined me later in the US, but in the east coast.


Thursday, July 27th, I drove over to show her the Pacific Ocean. She was actually stunned most of the times. Only then, I realized the importance of seeing places as a newbie. I don't remember, but I think I was dumbstruck by the Pacific(the first time I saw her) & I could trade anything for a drive along CA's Big Sur coast(till date). I had seen pictures of a few scenic drives in Ireland/Australia, but I haven't been there. So, Big Sur drive along CA 1 is the most scenic drive I've ever taken. Its so much fun even if you drive or ride. Its one drive you don't want to hurry. Trust me! No one does.


Our first stop was at Carmel beach. Its very special to me.
Carmel BeachCarmel BeachCarmel Beach

It was very pleasant..
That was my first beach when I came to CA. My husband planned on taking me further for a hike, but I loved this place and we ended spending over half a day here.

Deepa was a little worried when I told her to cross over rocks. Carmel & in fact big sur coast is all about rocks. We took the trail along the coast and turned back. It was different for me too. I had never seen so many animal life around here, ever. But today, we got lucky. We saw some cute otters, sea stars & of course, a lot of gulls. I was so happy to have the whole camera kit with me. There is always competition for the camera kit from my husband, as both of us prefer the DSLR. :-)



We continued the drive further. I really enjoyed being the tour guide. Inspires me to learn more, so that I can tell more.


We stopped at various turnouts along until we came to Rocky creek bridge. It so much looked like the historic Bixby bridge. We took the trail to get a few good pictures. The fog really started coming in. Our next board spelled Bixby bridge, but we could hardly see it. It was all in fog now. We realized that there was no point in going further with so much fog. So, we turned back.
I should have checked the weather earlier. Looks like fog generally sets in around 3 ish.


Deepa's enthusiasm to the Pacific ocean won her another day there. This time, it was much closer at half moon bay. I took her to 2 beaches. Both of them were not secluded! (thanks summer vacation & inland heat)
Me and my husband spotted dolphins in Poplar beach earlier. But this time. They were on vacation as well, I guess. I saw some otters though.


After hanging around for a while, we got ready for a really long day tomorrow. Ganesh offered for a trip to Yosemite National Park. Its one park, that I have visited many many times. But its been 1 year since I had been there earlier. I expected a hot, dry weather there. The place took me by surprise. The meadows were still green. Most of the falls had above average water. Good sign!
The minute we entered
All the fog getting inAll the fog getting inAll the fog getting in

Rocky Creek Bridge
the valley, we parked the car, geared up and got onto the shuttle to get down at Happy Isles. For those of you not familiar with Yosemite, “Happy Isles” is the gateway to a lot of marvels in Yosemite. Mist trail to Vernal Falls, Nevada Falls and finally to Half dome starts from here. It is the most popular hike in Yosemite in terms of the number of people.
The near vertical climb at Vernal Falls took me by surprise last time. This time, it was a lot easier. We were a lot slower, though. It was getting hot and Vernal was still spitting some mist out in the air. Thank God! We went further to Nevada falls footbridge. We had to turn over- no time. A little late for lunch, but we were fine. A short walk into the meadows and we were in lower Yosemite falls. Yosemite falls is the tallest waterfall in US, some 2500 ft top to bottom.
We really relaxed ourselves in the cool waters.
After a quick stop at Bridal Veil falls & Inspiration Point, we stopped at our sunset destination, Glacier Point. It was going to be an anti-climax as it started to drizzle and a huge cloud cover spread over us. But the view was no less than breath-taking. We could see the whole valley, Vernal and Nevada falls and of course the mighty half dome peak. There was a ranger talk going on about the place; And suddenly from nowhere, the Sun came out and shone on Half dome. Oh God! What a site!
And as if that was not enough, we saw a rainbow just above half dome. Spectacular!
I just did not want to leave the place. There was going to be a star talk later that night. We just did not have the time. Five solid hours before we were even close to home.
By the time, we came down to the valley, it was all dark. I started feeling sleepy. But I just looked up and asked Ganesh to pull over. I was overwhelmed. There was this sheet of white stars twinkling above my head. Times like these, make me not hate Yosemite(for the crowd). Stars make me feel happy and give me a sense of achievement. Foolishness. They are there all the time. But in the city, you cannot see many of them around. Specially, in
Poplar beachPoplar beachPoplar beach

Half moon bay
summer, the ocean fog sets in at night. I cannot even see the moon sometimes.
I guess, it’s the feeling you get when you not just see nature but be a part of it. And yes. I did see the Milky way. Gosh! I finally saw her.
We reached home the next morning 2 am. All tired, but well worth it.

Thanks to Deepa for having given us this experience.

Being at Glacier point, brought back a lot of old memories and new inspirations. The hike to Clouds rest and Panoramic trail into the valley. Well! Its on our mind.


I’ve been to Yosemite, maybe 6-7 times. But I’ve never felt bored; as every time we came, we did something different. This time was no exception.


I really wish, a little bit of everything, all around the world, is preserved like this as a National Park!

:sigh:

travelbuffs.




Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Pelican PointPelican Point
Pelican Point

Half moon bay
Oakdale SunriseOakdale Sunrise
Oakdale Sunrise

Way to Yosemite National Park
Cascade FallsCascade Falls
Cascade Falls

First stop:Yosemite National Park
Yosemite FallsYosemite Falls
Yosemite Falls

Upper falls, middle cataract and lower falls
Lower Yosemite FallsLower Yosemite Falls
Lower Yosemite Falls

all these rocks would hardly be visible in Spring.
Half domeHalf dome
Half dome

Ganesh, half dome & the meadows
Inspiration PointInspiration Point
Inspiration Point

On full moon nights, it can get really inspirational
The waterfalls from Glacier PointThe waterfalls from Glacier Point
The waterfalls from Glacier Point

Deepa & myself adding beauty to the already existing Vernal & Nevada falls
there is hopethere is hope
there is hope

Sun peeking from the clouds at Glacier Point
color everywherecolor everywhere
color everywhere

the mighty Yosemite falls at sunset
going on goodgoing on good
going on good

Vernal falls still mighty


9th August 2006

Wowoow
Way to go !!! Thanks to you and Ganesh for making my trip so wonderful..;-) watch out buddy...travel channel is looking out for u ;-))
14th August 2006

Hey There
Dear Meera and Ganesh, Yosemite is one place I would love to see - Good keep travelling and keep us all posted Alls well Geetha

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb