To Cambodia, with company


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
December 2nd 2013
Published: December 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

At the end of the week I'll head to Cambodia again, this time with an assistant leader and 7 undergraduates. This is the first time I'll be leading a tour, though I did take my partner when I went for a for a quick contact-making/reconnoitering trip to Siem Reap last December while planning this trip. The group will be documenting its experiences elsewhere, but I like keeping my own notes as well, so here we are.

This trip is intended to expose students to the human and social services needs of contemporary Cambodia, and how these are currently addressed both locally and by outsiders. We'll visit a number of NGOs and service agencies, and we'll also go to cultural and historical sites. I'm excited by the prospect of long, intense conversations with the students throughout the experience.

If you know me, you know I love my travel gear. Expect updates, because I have a new suitcase and a few new toys. First on the list: A web belt with a plastic buckle so I don't have to choose between setting off the security scanners or having my pants fall down.

Advertisement



3rd December 2013

bon voyage
revel in those intense conversations! I miss you!
6th December 2013

I miss you, too. I'll get you a bird report, at least.
3rd December 2013

Looking forward to reading about the trip! I want to come on the next one!
6th December 2013

That would be marvelous!
10th December 2013

Happy to still be on your travel blog....
WOW....sounds like you and some very lucky young people are off on a journey sure to add to their lives in so many ways. I know this because.....you continue to return-teaching, learning and then passing on to others, and now opening that door to others. I'm always excited to see your updates.

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb