Who and what


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
December 4th 2013
Published: December 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Here's a version of my intro write-up for other purposes:



I’ve been to Cambodia a number of times now—as a professional, as a volunteer, and as a tourist. I’ve visited with other psychologists through People to People International, on one of Friendship with Cambodia’s socially responsible tours, and on my own. I’ve even met a couple of my university students there. But even though this is my 6th trip, it’s the first I’ve put together to share the experience with a group. I’ve wanted to do this since 2006, and I’m very excited that it’s finally happening.

My assistant K and I both have a background in psychology and the students are undergraduate juniors and seniors in a service-related major. This means that all of us are interested in people and the sociocultural contexts that help determine the areas of risk and resilience in their lives. In addition to cultural and historical sites ranging from the Killing Fields to the Angkor temples, we’ll meet university students whose education is sponsored by donations and visit an undergraduate class at the Royal University of Phnom Penh, where K is scheduled to give a presentation on post-traumatic stress disorder. We’ll learn from other organizations as well, including the Somaly Mam Foundation and others that work to end human trafficking and to support vulnerable, at-risk, and exploited people. We’ll also visit organizations that offer internships through the university system's global internship program, and recommend updates to sections of Pujita Nanette Majeda and Friendship with Cambodia’s guidebook, <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">Responsible Travel Guide Cambodia: Improving Lives Through Thoughtful Travel Choices.

We’ll spend a lot of time talking about what we wonder about, what we’re learning, how it makes us feel, and what we can do to benefit both Cambodians and people in our own communities. We hope to blog frequently so we can share our experiences and practice writing professionally yet personally in social media. I’m sure we’ll hit some snags and have some surprises, so I’m looking forward to calming my own monkey mind and remaining peaceful and reflective. I’ll let you know how that goes!

Advertisement



6th December 2013

Bon Voyage!
I hope this trip is satisfying and fun!
6th December 2013

Thanks! I'm looking forward to some new activities.

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb