Day 6 - Portland, Oregon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
September 17th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Portland had quite a bit to offer in terms of experience. We’ll get to that.

First of all, I embarked on my first greyhound bus in Seattle. Journey time to Portland was four hours. I grabbed my first burrito on the way too, which was from a gas station. It wasn’t that great. Maybe I should go to Taco Bell next time.

Once I got to my hostel in Portland, which was a long walk from the bus station, I became acquainted with two of my roommates, Callum, an Aussie from Adelaide, and Jake from London. We got to know eachother very fast. Soon after, another two roommates came in; Judy from Taiwan and Aki from Japan.

With Callum and Jake, I soon after headed out with a new local friend of theirs, literally just met. A woman named Dallas, and one of her roommates, invited us over to her place, to where she drove us in a Mustang. There are lots of these cars in the US, from what I've noticed so far. We all became good friends really fast.

We had some pasta for dinner, with a few beers, and we had a bit of fun playing Mario Karts on the Nintendo 64. I was losing most of the time. Callum was a total expert at it though, and if I recall correctly, he never lost a race.

Dallas later took us to a house party. This was my first experience of American party lifestyle, and there was some good music being played by the people who lived here; I learnt that they play their own music as a hobby. I got to chat to and get to know a few other people while I was here. I mostly stuck with Callum and Jake though.

At the end of the night, Dallas took me back to my hostel, where we said goodbye for now. I told her I enjoyed my time and was happy to hang around. It seems I have made some new friends over here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.3kb