To do it...or not to do it....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
January 5th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh shoot... this could be really good or really bad. Or really both, really. I have been contemplating this decision for months now. While the fear of feeling contrite, shallow, egotistical, not funny, or gawd forbid boring, may enter other potential bloggers list of why not to do it, I am simply worried that I might like it. I'll face it, I like to talk, and not only to hear myself thinking out loud, but I think I am actually saying stuff,disillusioned or not. What's so bad about that, admitting it or the actual believing it in the first place? Either way, clearly I'm only marginally worried about the small peanuts of outside perception...I mean this is a public out cry on the world wide web. Well, I should certainly delete these last few sentences, but I'm feeling vulnerable and warm & fuzzy, so I vote to keep it, cause this is a new emotion for me and am in un-chartered territory. Hahaha, yeah right, I don't spill beans at all! Besides, I can always erase it later, I'm sure. Note to self: check the FAQ on the forum on deleting entries.
Honestly, my biggest worries are, Did I spell check that? Oh, and is it too much to wear J-Lo's sweat suit on international traveling days? I mean, I see those other girls with matching velour suits, with a tossled-messy-bun, trotting thru the airports, with a non-fat-double shot of espresso(as if)...but then again they do have their cute purses and a glob of make-up on and I'm not kidding I saw a chick with a pair of those high heeled tennis shoes on. I mean hey, I don't think I got that same look or nearly the game, but I'm not judging if you got those shoes. This is a toss up, I mean I know I am super comfy at home for 20+ hours in the J-Lo, but is it worth it, to be lumped in that category of silly westerners among the rest of the world? I'll try to post a pic of our day of travel wear, just cause I know that'll be a burning question in your mind.
No really...I usually do keep a little record of my travels, primarily due to the short term memory loss that has plagued me for nearly a decade now, due to being a very busy lady
Burrrrrr!Burrrrrr!Burrrrrr!

My plants are cold!
with lots of information going in and out of my head, why...what were you thinking? I like to remember some of those tiny details that would never fit in the memory lobe for longer than the experiencing moment. Granite the records I have kept have been in tiny little notebooks with torn covers, scribbled and stained pages with directions on which road to take to get back to the swimming hole with the waterfall that I had spent an afternoon soaking up the sun and enjoying the surrounds in 1995, somewhere in the Sierra Nevada Mountain range. So, having an electronic version of this sounds awesome, and quick and quite frankly, now you the reader/friend are on a non-pressured, voluntary basis listening/really reading my rambles vs. the obligatory 2 bottles of wine that we'll need to re-cap this trip and I'll never remember to tell you the really important things, I'm sure of it. Also, since we know a laptop can withstand approx 12 oz of domestic beer directly poured in the keyboard, I'm not worried about the elements of Thailand affecting my blog updates. Compared to home, this trip to SE Asia will be a breeze.
I've read alot of blogs and talked to several people regarding blogs and here's the concensus...those that are blogging, love it. Those that are not, might think it's a little un-cool. What's better... is that if your one of those haters, you surely won't be reading this. I'm still on the fence, mostly I am inspired after a half bottle of wine. Which I don't mind letting alcohol dictate some...I mean half...who I am kidding...the majority of my decisions. Woah...that's how I type out loud, another unguarded moment. For my family & friends, that's no surprise that I say exactly what I think.
Shaun is constantly telling me "bullet points, babe, bullet points". If you have ever drifted slighty (subtly, I'm sure) from one of my lengthy stories...I give you my transcribed version. Taaaadaaaah! (Oh, and I am constantly trying to spell words that are normally only spoken, so spell check will not help me, or you there.) I'll try the bullet point thing and maybe think in captions, well, honestly, I'm going to keep that in the back of my mind as I go, but there are no promises. I have had "Excessive Talking" on my report cards since Ms. Grohoski separated me and Katie M from homeroom except we called it "Core" at my school. See...it'll be stuff like that, no biggie, just a little more details than maybe your other friends tell you.
Now that I have officially blogged...officially, I'll stop saying that this was just a way to upload my pictures to free up some room on my memory card, hahha! Yeah, I'm pretty sure I'll like it, this thinking and typing thing, what you would normally be speaking to someone who may or may not really be listening. Now you can scan it and do the speed read thru...yeah like in high school and I not only won't know it, but I won't care either. Even though I just said it's not for the pictures, I really meant it's not all for the pictures. That's really the best part of any trip, right? The captured image of right then. So, I had to make sure I fully understood how to upload my pictures before I get all under pressure, like am I going to lose these 400 pictures of the last month by pressing the Upload button now? Oh Gawd! What do I do? Awe,
Arctic Blast!Arctic Blast!Arctic Blast!

We kept waiting for it to stop snowing...
there it works, see some pictures of Portland, Zone 6. Hence the "Arctic Blast" dubbed by the boys and girls in charge at channel 8 news.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Oh...the barbieOh...the barbie
Oh...the barbie

We'll see you again soon, I hope!


Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb