Rough Pre-Start


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
January 10th 2009
Published: January 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night in PDXLast night in PDXLast night in PDX

Well, the last night before I was puking anyway :[
Really...seriously? Yup, food poisoning the day before we left. No Joke! The culprit, damn rookie sandwich artist wearing the green and gold. I thought I was safe not being on the 8-2, but no....50th and Foster should have the same friggin' warning tagged to it. I'm so trusting and naive to think that you would aquire the same safe food handling practices with only half the teeth in your mouth. Nope! It's a good thing that we started to pack on Tue, cause I was a total mess on Wed. Everything was going fine, even pretty fun, drinking domestic beer, packing for the next month. I even busted out the camera at one point and made sure to get a shot of us still on US soil. Poor Shaun, hates it when I push for a pic, but I was determined. And, sadly, I did put baby in the corner, but just for a sec. Which reminds me of a T-shirt I saw today...it had a video game bride and groom logo with the words "Game Over" underneath it, true, true. Anyways....woke up pretty early Wed morning with the worst pain in my tummy hoping it was a terrible nightmare or
Baby in the CornerBaby in the CornerBaby in the Corner

Sorry love, I may have took it too far.
at least thinking maybe my nerves have gotten the better of me. No luck, I've had those stabbing sensations before, and it was on a road trip about 15 years ago driving thru the desert heading to Vegas from Denver for a Dead Show (see Amendment Page for description.) It was bad then and I really had no idea how bad it was going to be now traveling across the world. Needless to say, I was still sick a few days later when we arrived in Bangkok.
I'll just do a quick re-cap of the transition from Oregon to Thailand, even though now that I'm here, I've already forgotten/forgiven. I've heard "them" say that about child birth and even though I'm not the child bearing type, I can still relate. It's so bad, but then you forget and still do it over again. So, I'll for sure travel around the world again regardless of how it feels to sit on your arse for roughly 36 hours in a two foot space with 250 other freaks. Maybe having a kid should be really extra hard, so "they" will be discouraged to have anymore. Sorry, that one slipped. Moving on... We left
4:30 in the morn, still managed to smile4:30 in the morn, still managed to smile4:30 in the morn, still managed to smile

I opted for Fleece hoodie and comfy cords, cause I'm sure you were dying to know
our house in Oregon about 4:30 am on Thursday to board a 2 hour flight to San Francisco, then a 3 hour layover. From there, at noon we got on Asiana Airlines headed to Incheon Airport in Seoul, Korea. Despite this being the longest flight I have ever been on, 12 solid hours, it was actually pretty top notch, under the circumstances. Every seat had a screen in front of it where you could choose from a pretty good selection of movies, tv, games, etc. I watched at least 4 movies, same with Shaun. They also feed you every few hours or so, choosing Korean Style or Western Style. I started to get an appetite the last few hours of this flight opting for Korean style. May not have been the best choice after not eating since Tue, I just figured it couldn't get worse, right? (see Amendment Page for better description of the Korean Bond Girls) We had about 3 hours in Korea to get to our next flight to Bangkok. At this point, to us it was about midnight and we had already been going for about 19 hours. Except it was only 8pm, the next day in
WooHoo!!!WooHoo!!!WooHoo!!!

4 flights, 2 taxis and 36 hours later!
Seoul, too weird to keep up with the time while traveling. We got on our next flight which would take 6 hours to get to Bangkok. When we got to BKK, it was midnight their time and our flight to Koh Samui was at 6am. That's right, several hours to kill in the airport, lugging around our bags for the first flight out in the morning. We attempted to do what other travelers were doing...which was to sleep across 3 metal chairs in the departure area, but really now it's like 9am our time. Even though we really haven't slept, we're not tired. Well, yes, we're tired, I guess not tired enough to actually fall asleep under that un-comfy situation. At 4am we could finally get our boarding passes on Bangkok Airways and check our bags. It was at that point, oops, that I realized I had actually booked that leg of the flight on the 9th, and I just now have been told it was the 10th. Ahhhh, that's what actually happens at the International Date Line. You change days. Luckily, they didn't charge us extra and there was room on the flight. Then it dawned on me that
Still Awake...Still Awake...Still Awake...

Oh and I chopped a foot off my hair!
we had arranged our pick up with the villa for the 9th...yesterday. We attempted to get on the internet in the airport lobby thru some sort of contraption that looked more like an ATM vs a Hot Spot, which is funny...that's pretty much what it turned out to be except in reverse. We slid our debit card thru, it stated charging 100 Baht/per minute...that's like $3 US and we couldn't figure the m-effer out. That'll be interesting to see what it cost us when the bank statement comes next month to get super frusterated and still not be able to check email. Of course I tried my Blackberry....loaded with Global ISP at $60/month...not sure why I thought that would work. Anyways...got to the gate and they had this awesome waiting room for passengers, with free internet, tasty cakes, and push button coffee machine. I'm assuming this is what the Red Carpet Room looks like for high mileage passengers in the States. But this was for anybody. Sweet! Checked email and confirmed that our ride had indeed tried
Coconut GrovesCoconut GrovesCoconut Groves

This is our view from the kitchen balcony. All those hills are covered in Coconuts!
to pick us up the previous morning and in a cute/Thai way had asked if we slept over in the US and missed our flight. Ooopsy. Nope, just didn't realize this was going to take 3 days instead of the 2 I had planned for. Moving on....we landed on Samui, caught a cab, which got lost, asked for directions and randomnly that lady knew the phone number to our villa, something we should have known but between my food poisoning and the wind storm that knocked the internet out before we left home, we didn't have that kind of information. A little later than expected we finally got to where we would call home for the next 5 weeks, and met Poupe, our house manager. More about her and our new favorite dog Lucky later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Our Ocean ViewOur Ocean View
Our Ocean View

Looking out towards the Gulf of Thailand


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb