Buried car no more


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Tulsa
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

anticpationanticpationanticpation

Here's the crowd waiting for the 1st glimpse of the 57 Plymouth in 50 years.
I’m enjoying being a part of history in the making. When a big clap of thunder woke me up early I wasn’t sure the weather was going to be conducive to standing on a corner in Tulsa, Oklahoma. But the rains moved on through and no more came during the unearthing ceremony.

Surprisingly I managed to park only a couple blocks away from the site.

I wound up with a relatively good view of the crane lifting it out of the ground and onto a trailer.

Then I moved down the street and was right next to it as they took it to the convention center for the unveiling tonight. Even though it was still mostly wrapped in the plastic it’s OBVIOUS it didn’t survive the 50 years underground (and part of that time underwater) like they hoped.

While waiting for the Chevy pickup to pull it down the street, (I was absolutely amazed that Chrysler hadn’t provided a Big red Dodge Hemi pickup to haul it to the convention center) I started talking with a guy who had a foreign accent. He was Hans from Finland. He has been planning on coming to this for
First LookFirst LookFirst Look

We are getting our first view of the car.
20 years!!!! We started talking and he bought EXTRA tickets to the unveiling tonight at the convention center. I asked if he wanted to sell one and he GAVE me a ticket!!!!

So I’m all set for tonight. Think the doors open at 5:30 and festivities start at 7 pm.

After the car was taken to the convention center I was able to go right up to the vault and get some images.

A local guy who is assisting a French group here filming a documentary on the event told me about a guy here from New Zealand. Via the internet he organized a group of 22 who came. They were from all over so they had T-shirts made that said Tulsa or Bust. That way they would know each other when they got here.

Saw a lady being interviewed whose Dad was one of the ones who helped bury the car. Then I got to see a gentleman who designed the spray gun that put the Gunnite on the walls of the vault. His brother sprayed the walls. His niece (who was one of the girls in the photos when the car was buried) was
Bow Ties RuleBow Ties RuleBow Ties Rule

It took a Chevy truck to haul the 57 Plymouth to the convention center. What was Chrysler thinking???
there, too.

Well I’m going to wrap it up for now and plan out my evening. I’ll post a couple of images from today as well.

What a COOL day! It has far exceeded my expectations and I’m sure tonight will be as well.

Bruce



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Front BumperFront Bumper
Front Bumper

Close up of the front bumper.
Tail FinTail Fin
Tail Fin

Here's a look at the tail fin.
Time CapsuleTime Capsule
Time Capsule

Here's a look at the rear of the car and the time capsule - which looks like a propane tank.
HansHans
Hans

My new best friend from Finland - Hans. He had an extra ticket to the unveiling tonight and gave it to me!
Young and old enthusiasmYoung and old enthusiasm
Young and old enthusiasm

People of all ages enjoyed capturing images like this of a 56 and 57 Plymouth.


Tot: 0.39s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 75; dbt: 0.3056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb