Less than 24 hours until the journey begins...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Rocky River
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Travel plans - set. Itineraries - printed. Travel-sized toiletries - purchased. Euros - bought. iPod batteries - charged. Passport - found. Suitcase - definitely NOT packed. So many things to remember to do before leaving on a trip like this one... luckily, Spain is a very modern country, so any material items that I forget can be purchased. It's interesting that this will be my first time traveling to Spain on my own - I mean, after the kids leave on the 20th, I'll be flying solo. I love being in the group setting because decisions have already been made - all you have to do is show up. For the seven days after the kids leave, I'm on my own. I'll definitely go back to Barcelona (22 to 24 June) and then head down to Madrid (24 to 27 June) prior to flying home, but what am I going to do from 20 until 22? I'd thought about Valencia, but now I'm tossing around the idea of visiting Granada. Plus, nagging me from afar is the northern triumvirate of Bilbao-San Sebastián-Santander. And I've never been to the northwest - Santiago de Compostela, A Coruña, Vigo. Yet, despite all that I haven't seen, I think the answer is Mallorca. Yes, yes. Definitely Mallorca. I'll be taking the largest of the Baleares by storm. Should be the perfect way to spend two days. Sun, sand and a little bit of Joán Miró. It's probable that two days won't be enough, but I'll make the most of them.

I'd like to think I might be able to catch a little bit of the NBA Finals while I'm over there, but between the six-hour time difference and our busy schedule, it seems unlikely. Scores will definitely be in the papers - Spain is home to no less than four sports dailies that I can think of, something I really wish our country had, but our reliance on sports news sources such as the internet and ESPN & Fox Sports News sort of make the concept sort of out-of-date - and highlights will probably be on the news, but the timing of everything is unfortunate. Although, if Games 1 and 2 were any indication... it may be better that I'll miss out. Nevertheless, GO 'LIERS GO!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb