Costa Rica, Viajeros Pobres (Rich Coast, Poor Travelers)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Cleveland Area
January 17th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As I write we are mere miles away from the beautiful and sunny coast.... of the Cuyahoga. You got it, we're rocking "the Cleve" (as I've decided to call it) or "The Mistake on the Lake", as Candace, our first commenter, so kindly pointed out.

I'll start out by thanking those of you who joined us at Solstice the night before we left, you were a small but rambunctious crowd and it was nice of you to see us off in case we come back any worse for the wear. And a side mention to the Twisted Spoke Breakfast Group that couldn’t make it that night, but saw us off a little earlier.

Our voyage from Chicago started off normal enough with Elise driving the first leg of the trip since mornings and I have never got along very well and agreed we should avoid each other whenever possible. I took over the wheel after our first bathroom break/gasoline fill up. At that point Elise opted for a small nap, but not before warning me not to speed too much. I think the cop who pulled me over agreed with her since he issued me a nice ticket for exceeding the speed limit by 20 MPH. Needless to say the town of Freemont, Indiana is a much richer place for having known me.

This leads me to the point of this post and the reason for its title. We started off already on a pre-epiphany Scrooge-worthy budget and now are even further into the hole, so this blog has now become a fund-raising hub for our travels… All of you on the subscription list will have to pay a premium to follow our journey. It will be $45 per post. In addition, every time we use the word “Costa” in an entry, that will cost readers another $3.50, but what’s the likelihood of using it? It’s not even English. Since we can’t enforce this we’ll use the honor system. I trust that you’ll all send a check each time you visit the site and if not, it’s on YOUR conscience. Take that Sally Struthers!

Back to Cleveland: We experienced the first “Meeting of the Moms (and a Dad)” as my parents were in Cleveland coincidentally my parents, Elise’s mom and brother, Brad, and the happy (but very very poor and in need of donations) couple dined together. A good time was had by all, and as a bonus the present Kleinmans got to meet some more Jaffe related peoples - i.e. My sister, Samantha, brother in law Brad and his mother. We were all a little nervous over the meeting since both sides had a Brad who was irrationally attached to his Blackberry and we thought this might cause the universe to implode. Thankfully disaster was averted and I’m not positive but think that by the end of the night the Brad’s were emailing each other from across the table.

Other than that, we spent lots of time with Elise's many many relatives (who are wonderful, charitable people, always looking to donate to worthy causes).

OK, we’ve taken up enough time, STILL not in Costa ($3.50 please) Rica, so I promise the next post I write will be from Costa (another $3.50) Rica.

So stay tuned, and feel free to pass on this blog’s address to anyone else with as much free time as those who are able to get through this whole entry, and of course can afford the entrance fee.

Your slightly poorer, but still excited friends,

Gregg and Elise


Advertisement



17th January 2006

Dear Sir: I happened to read your blog and as I am involved in tracking down the numerous phony charities that have sprung up to take advantage of Hurricane Katrina, I must inform you that we are now launching an investigation into the legality of your new charity. If we find any evidence of fraud we will come down on you like a hammer. We will track you down to Costa ($3.50 - D'oh) Rica and prosecute you to the fullest extent of whatever they usefor laws down there. Sincerely, R. Jaffe U.S. Department of Sticking Our Noses Into Everybody's Business
18th January 2006

to the mama boy his girl with the whip
I have already made a somewhat generous contribution so my conscience is clear. Also if you have love you are never poor. Sometimes hungry, dirty, cold, and frustrated, but never poor. Just make sure that we are informed when you arrive in Costa( owe you $3.50)Rica. Love you both and stay safe.
18th January 2006

Happy Hanukah!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb