Barry takes a Break


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Bowling Green
October 5th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bowling GreenBowling GreenBowling Green

Where I slept, Thursday's dinner, and Friday's breakfast all rolled into one :)
So after surviving the longest roadtrip ever, Barry (my car) called it quits on what was suppose to be a short trip to Columbus. So here I sit, in Bowling Green, Ohio waiting for a new fuel pump. I had to stay overnight waiting for the part to come in, luckily my mechanic, Julian, was a really nice guy and dropped me off at a motel yesterday.

I was feeling really grumpy because of the whole situation so I really didn't do much exploring. But Bowling Green appears to be your normal Midwest town: there's a university here with a pretty popular football team and it seems like overall there are more cars than people.

I sort of want to go trespass on campus, but it appears to be quite large (I've seen a shuttle bus go by very 20 minutes or so) and I'm at one of the extremities (the football stadium). Not to mention that it's 90+ degrees outside.

While wandering around, I did sit down on a bench and start talking with this random older woman. She said Bowling Green was a nice enough place but that it had its pockets of evil like everywhere else. Then she started talking to me about her ex-boyfriend who use to abuse her and tried to kill her on multiple occasions. She said, "this is America! I shouldn't have to go through that!" No one should have to go through that. I hate that everyone brushes over that things like this are commonplace in the US. We look at other countries and cultures and judge them harshly for how they treat each other but we're not willing to do the same with our neighbors.

I didn't really say much, just listened to her. She said her daughter's family was coming to visit her today and that made me really happy. Her taxi eventually came and she left as quickly as she had sat down.

Julian just called. He's coming to pick me up, in Barry nonetheless. Looks like it's time to head home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb