A Summer in Ohio


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Athens
March 13th 2009
Published: March 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Today was early. And cold. But we loaded up and left camp after breakfast and headed east some more. East to OHIO! That makes fifty states, my friends. I slept a lot of the journey, and read quite a bit as well. I was buried under the quilt that Sarah made me, and when I woke up, my hair was all sorts of staticky.

Wile we were driving, Kyle said something funny… on purpose! Dana commented that the artist we were listening to was very “summery.” Sarah asked what that meant and she replied that it was light and fresh and sunny and happy or something. Sarah piped in, “It makes you want to put on a pink summer dress and have a picnic.” Kyle added, without missing a beat, “No, no. I’m not a fan of picnics.” Woohoo!

We arrived and did the normal wandering about until we left for dinner. Sharye joined us at an Irish restaurant just down the hill from the hotel. The kids also walked down the steep, grassy hill with us on their way to dinner, and some of them were excited about it, while others were having a bit of trouble. Everyone made it down, though, with no casualties.

Dinner was good. The super salty chips to go with our salsa was quite the topic of conversation. After dinner, we just chilled and I read vigorously in order to finish my book (Sarah finished TWO books today!) which I did finally accomplish. It was a great book. I learned a ton about Rwanda, international policies, politics, and human nature. But I really liked the subtle leadership lessons from the current President of Rwanda, Paul Kagame.

Did I mention I’ve now been to all the states. I’m hoping to maybe visit all of the countries in Africa or Europe next.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb