Olympic NP Trip - Theodore Roosevelt National Park


Advertisement
Published: February 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More photos at: Picasa




I headed east on I-90, then I-94 into North Dakota. While I've driven past Theodore Roosevelt National Park several times, this is the first time I've gone in. Theodore Roosevelt NP, besides preserving some spectacular landscapes, is sighted near where Teddy Roosevelt owned a ranch in the late 19th century, a period credited with developing his conservation mindedness. The ranch site itself is well off the beaten path and not developed. After driving the loop in the park's southern unit, I continued east. As I said before, they were having some severe problems with flooding in the upper plains, and at one point I came across a place where the water was almost over the road. I was told that this area was overland flooding, not water from rivers. Eventually, I ended my day a little ways into Minnesota. When I entered Minnesota I was a bit surprised to see that the visitor's center along the freeway was blocked off with construction barrels, but I didn't think much of it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb