Road tripping is the "illest"


Advertisement
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today marked the kickoff to the first road trip through the Eastern US. On my way out I ditched a box of tissues my Mom thought would be nice to have. After all, why would I need a box of tissues on a road trip to the South and all its nice weather? Around noon, I found out. A head cold emerged as the last week of little sleep and lots of excitement caught up with me. I had to bail on the hockey game and hit the rack early. That ended up being a smart decision. The last thing I needed was to be sick and see a Pittsburgh team win a playoff series.

I did stop to see the USMC Museum in Quantico as an impromptu excursion. Anyone interested in US Military history would love this. It's housed in an enormous building and covers the history of the Corps from its inception in colonial times to its modern day deployments in the Middle East. The highlight for me was a simulation of the Marines' storming of the beaches at Iwo Jima.

After the eight hour drive, I’m spending the night at an Extended Stay Hotel in North Raleigh. Hopefully a good night’s rest will shake this cold. I plan to tour UNC Chapel Hill and Duke tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb