Camp LeJeune


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Ocracoke
October 31st 2009
Published: October 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Destination - Mile Hammock Bay, Camp Lejeune, NC
Left Morehead City 7:15 AM arrived at Camp Leleune 1:30PM

Headwind today so no sail. Still made 8 knots out of Morehead then tide changed and went to 5 knots. This is a nice anchorage. A friend told me that sometimes at night the marines have drills in this basin and ride boats between the anchors and shoot blanks from machine guns. I hope it happens tonight. He did not know about it and woke up to machine gun fire. He said it got his heart pumping. There are already 10 boats in here and it is only 4:30. Hope to get to the anchorage at Wrightsville Beach tomorrow and then it may be a marina or two because I don't see any good anchorages.
My brother is coming to get on the boat for a while in a few days, have to figure out where to pick him up.

I just saw a dolphin beside the boat. I can't believe they come into 10 feet of water.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb