The Rock


Advertisement
Published: March 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

24 “Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on the rock. Matthew 7:24-25

Remember when I said things don’t happen quickly around here...well I was wrong this time.
We had plans to visit my best friend Pati (since grade school) this weekend. We planned to stop in Whittier, NC to pick up sweet Lola about noon this morning and then head to Cincinnati.
Last night after dinner Ken got a call from ‘Bud’ the excavator. He can dig tomorrow morning or it could be 3-4 weeks until he can get to our job. So...we said yes, called Pati and Lola and promised to come another time.

I doubt if Ken got any sleep. We’ve been anticipating this day for so long. I thought about this ground breaking and envisioned Ken and the workers posing in a line, hard hats, shovels, cameras. He said that wasn’t going to happen. 😊

I’m working from home so couldn’t go but told him to take lots of pictures. He called a few hours later and said they hit granite. There are a LOT of rocks around here and the granite veins can go on and on so you always run the risk of this. It comes down to - can Bud bust it and break it up or do we fill in the hole and go to plan B. Plan B is build a house on a slab, start digging someplace else ($$$$) or sell. It was difficult to concentrate the rest of the day. I called Ken a few hours later for an update. He said Bud broke through a lot of the granite but needs to come back tomorrow and do more.

After work Ken took me up to see what they did. I was shocked. Bud reshaped our land! A huge hole for the house and huge rocks everywhere. It’s hard to describe - for a year I walked the land and visualized but the picture in my mind was abundantly lacking. It’s much better than I dreamed of.
Let’s pray Bud can break up some more granite!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.454s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb