That's the Name of the Game


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My dad informed me today that I write too much. So today will be short, maybe with a few pictures, so you all can get caught up.

Early day again today, but I slept most of the 4-hour drive. Julia was with us, and we took her to the airport, and while I was awake, we had a nice chat. We checked into the hotel midday, and then Sarah and Dana and I went to the arboretum. I was hoping there would be a label to tell me what the dumb trees are, but the only trees that were labeled were ones not native to here- Japanese trees and whatnot. Bummer. It was a nice walk, though. 50 degrees or so- I was in shorts again! We caught the bus to dinner at the GC with the kids. Victor had the microphone for the whole ride and was giving us a tour of Greensboro, explaining that it was founded in 1887 by a man named Greens and his wife, Boro. Also, the Men’s Warehouse we saw on the right, was founded by our pilot (the bus driver, Jordan), who worked in the design field for 30 years.

At dinner, I sat with Auntie Amanda, who just got here on Sunday, Kyle and Susan. She was a space cadet all throughout dinner. We all had a nice chat though. After the kids were in bed, we had a party of sorts. It was two-fold, partly because of Amanda’s birthday on Monday, and partly because it’s Ruth’s last night with us. Ruth is leaving on Saturday and flying home to Northern Ireland for a week, and then moving to South Africa to train new choirs and run programs and things. We’ll surely miss her. We got a good surprise on Amanda, and had some good time with Dutch Blitz.

Kyle and I had a nice chat about some statistics. 2 million people under the age of 14 in Africa are HIV positive. There are 14 million AIDS orphans. The UN estimates that 1 out of 3 people on the continent of Africa today will die from AIDS. Where is the Church in all of this?

Sarah and I are watching Band of Brothers- one of my favorite movies, and one that she got for me this week. If this blog was too short for you, check out http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/default.stm and read about what’s going on in the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sarah and RuthSarah and Ruth
Sarah and Ruth

Looking like they're talking about something important.
Sarah's SocksSarah's Socks
Sarah's Socks

Sarah got a pack of 3 mismatched socks from her aunt, and they made their debut today.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb