Annapolis - Heading Toward The Sunshine!


Advertisement
Published: August 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Buddy's CrabsBuddy's CrabsBuddy's Crabs

Cute restaurant in Annapolis, MD
Well, here we are -- in the Holiday Inn Express in Salma, NC. April is working and I just finished work so we should be getting ready to finish our journey to Orlando any time now. We are about an hour away from South Carolina, which is about 3 hours long and in Georgia for about an hour and a half-- so we should get to Florida later afternoon/early evening. We check into the Portofino tonight in Orlando (another Loews hotel). YAAAY, I can't get those beds out of my mind. SO SO comfortable!!!!!!!!! 😊
Yesterday was a good day! After we checked out of the Loews Annapolis hotel we went for lunch at "Buddy's Crabs" -- um, err..I think that's what it was called? LOL! It was a cute, shanty shack type restaurant overlooking the Annapolis waterfront and shopping area. After lunch we walked around and went in some of the cute shops, took some pictures, and then decided to head out. We wanted to make good time and make it to North Carolina.
My thoughts on Annapolis: It is a very cute town. It has that great old, pirate/seafaring feel to it. There are tons of shops, restaurants, nightclubs,
Inside Buddy'sInside Buddy'sInside Buddy's

Inside Buddy's
and lots of activities on the water. Ape and I feel a night or two is more than sufficient here. It is a great stopping point between New England and Florida. It is about a 30 minute diversion off of I-95 South. If you are familiar with Newport, RI and Charleston, SC -- you have Annapolis! It is a great mix of both. The people are nice, there is a great "college town" vibe and, although prices are a bit high (hellooooo....$7.99 for a magnet of a crab.....wooooah..)!
The ride to North Carolina was pretty uneventful....except for our short stop in Fredericksburg, VA. We had to load the car up with gas ($1.99 a gallon at Super Walmart baby...lol). And then April, bless her, HAS to stop at the cute WAWA (yes, wawa) convenient store to...ummm....trinkle. Well, me being on my muscle relaxant pills and somewhat "spacy" (ok, drugged...lol) didn't know if I was coming or going...so I followed April inside. Wawa has lots of bananas. That's all I am saying people. A loooooot of bananas. Anyway, in the check out line I was looking for a little snack....a kit kat maybe....why the hell not? 😊LOL! And all I kept
Cool BoatCool BoatCool Boat

Annapolis Waterfront
seeing was BANANAS.....was I hallucinating? What the heck.....well, April, always ready to take advantage of the situation, said, "Des, they only sell healthy stuff here!" I shook my head and was SOOOOOO excited -- HOW COOL I though -- a gas station/convenient store that sells HEALTH food.....it's about time I said.....this tickled April's funny bone and she was off.....she laughed and laughed and laughed at me.....I left in shame (also laughing) and when April came out she was STILL laughing (anyone who knows April knows here face was the color of a tomato at this point)! I caught the whole thing on video and to see April laugh this hard (at my stupidity and gullableness -- is that a word?-- you get the idea) at my expense was both hilarious and confusing! LOL! Maybe the road was getting to her. We did pass lots of Harley's and we ALL know how into Harley's April is...just kidding...OR AM I? Hmmmm... 😉
OK, so we're off again.....good weather....good music.....all is well! We had dinner at subway and then checked into a new Holiday Inn Express that is across the street for a HUGE (and I mean HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE) gift shop/tourist attraction. JR'S Western
BoatBoatBoat

Annapolis Waterfront
World or saddle shop or hop on the bull and bark shack...I don't know....lol.....they sell cigars and cowboy hats and a million other things.....you can call it whatever you want. Today I will call it "JR'S LOTS OF CHEAP CRAP YOU JUST HAVE TO HAVE"! 😊
It is 9:20am, so I better shower up and head on out. We are just missing a huge rain storm -- yaay -- we'll drive through SOME rain today, but once we get to Georgia and Florida it is SUNSHINE!!!
Til then...
Happy Travels!
Des & Ape


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Cool ShopsCool Shops
Cool Shops

Cute Street in Annapolis, MD
Cool PubCool Pub
Cool Pub

A Jimmy Buffett Type Pub in Annapolis, MD
Cute Annapolis PubCute Annapolis Pub
Cute Annapolis Pub

Colorful Annapolis Pub
Pigs GuitarsPigs Guitars
Pigs Guitars

Cute BBQ Restaurant Sign in Central Plaza - Fredericksburg, VA
Cheeseburger in ParadiseCheeseburger in Paradise
Cheeseburger in Paradise

Our beloved Jimmy Buffett's NEW chain restaurant -- Cheeseburger In Paradise. We didn't stop here this time.
Annapolis State CapitolAnnapolis State Capitol
Annapolis State Capitol

Maryland State Capitol - Annapolis, MD
Annapolis Waterfront 3Annapolis Waterfront 3
Annapolis Waterfront 3

Another great view of the Annapolis Waterfront.


Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.2772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb