The final journey home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Davidson
November 4th 2012
Published: November 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, I should look to see what my last post is before completeing this. Ok, I am so sorry about the last post. I just realized how it copied without any paragraphs. I have been writing them on the I-pad notes then pasting them into the blog when I had the time, so evidentally they didn't indent when pasting them...sorry. And just think I had time in the airport in Seoul to work all of that out, but I was lax and not to mention a little sleepy.

Anyway, we made it back down to Lukla all safe and sound. Only then did I mention to the whole group how amazed I was that I had hiked over 120 miles without a single fall! Everyday, I was so nervous I was going to trip and fall. As you know from my other post, the trail was extremely steep and rocky. Several of our group had tumbles, luckily no one was hurt. At time I hated the rocks and other times I welcomed the rocks since they stopped my slides down the dusty trail. I don't remember if I mentioned how dusty the trail was. A fine, fine dust that got into every little crack and crevice. We wore our buffs over our mouths and noses every day, just to help keep the dust out. A thick slathering of sunscreen and a full day of trail dust made for a beautiful crust at the end of the day!

I would like to thank Sylvie and Sarah for helping me up the last big hill to Lukla. Sylvie is from Quebec City and speaks french, but was working on her English. We got along great and by the end of the trip she seemed like a sister. So, if you ever meet up with a french canadian that speaks English with a southern accent that would be Sylvie! After she ran out of things to talk about with me, Sarah took over and we chatted up the last hill. When we finally crested over the top, I was so relieved! I had made it up and all the way back without mishap or murder!

I guess we got to town about mid afternoon, so we had time to relax. As with all the other tea houses, the common room was the only one heated. But it this case the stove
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

typical tea house room
had been taken out since we had passed through the first time! No heat for us! Never fear....Starbucks is here! Yes, there is a real Starbucks in Lukla! With real seats and free wifi! I have never liked Starbucks, but now I might have to change my mind! It felt so good to set and relax in a place somehow familiar. Lukla also had a place called Yak-Donalds, but it was just another tea house that served Yak burgers. Of course, David and George had to try them out. The burgers received a BIG thumbs up!

The house was packed that night at dinner and we were all happy to enjoy adult drinks on AAI for the first time since Katmandu! After dinner our support staff of Sherppa's joined us in the dining room and we thanked them all and tips were given out.

I don't think I have mentioned all of our support staff of Sherpas. Our lead guide, Lakpa and assistant guide Sarah were on top of everthing and we could call on them at any time. Sarah and I spent several nights as room mates and I really enjoyed having her around to ask my many questions. She was so prepared and helpful, even taping up my ankle when it started feeling weak and worked on blister patrol. Then we had several other sherpa helping out daily. Gopal was our Siddar Sherppa. He was basically in charge of all the backgroud stuff. He helped orgainize the lodging and meals, kept our water bottles full and anyting else we needed while at the overnights. Our two other helpmates were Nima and Cebush. They were younger, 21 and 22, and hiked with us everyday. Sometime one of them lead us, setting a nice slow pace. Both had ready smiles and spoke a little English. When any meal was served they were the waiters. The tea houses had their own kitchens, but then our guys served and helped clean up. They also, served the afternoon tea and snacks. We also had two porters that carried what the Zo's and Yak's could not handle. The smallest one was 17 and about Weston's size. We called him Mighty Mike because his load was huge!I could never understand he real name. Then we had our Yak/Zo herder. His name was Chrisna. Again, they all had bright smiles and worked so hard
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Memorial to climbers who lost to lives on Everest.
all day!

The next morning we were up bright and early to catch the plane to Katmandu. We ate early then sat and waited to be called to the airport. The building at the airport is very small, so they hold everyone at the tea house until nearly time for the flight. Once there it's a mad house of activity. Bags were checked by hand then we went through security into the gate area. Planes had been landing earlier in the morning but all the sudden things had gotten quite. I guess maybe fog was burning off in Katmandu. Finally planes started coming in again and what a show it was! There are at least 4 and maybe 6 different airlines coming in one at a time. The planes skid to a stop in the only flat area there, since the runway is sloped, then leaving one engine running they unload people and bags. Immediately loading the new people and bags they close the door and zoom down the runway. The whole thing takes less, yes less than five minutes! It's astounding! I tried to video it, but my camera battery quick at 4 mintues. If anyone is really nuts about airplane stuff, google Lukla airport. It will scare you!

Katmandu never looked so good....well, sort of! It was great to get back to a real hotel and shower! We went out to dinner again for our official last meal together. We were all looking forward to real food for a change. I think most of us were disappointed when after surviving the mad dash through the CRAZY streets we ducked into a Korean BBQ place. Now, keep in mind I had two more days flying through Korean to get home. But, again we were wrong to be disappointed, the food was very good filling.

After sleeping in a bed, not a soft one but a bed none the less, we had a great breakfast at the hotel, shopped a little then I had to get to the airport. I shared a van with another couple from the states. They seemed super nice and we enjoyed talked all the way. After the driver dropped us at the curb, all of our bags were wisked up by an older man with a cart. I followed him, but the couple got way in front of us and disappeared. I
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

Coming into Gorak Shep.
thought we were just stuck in a crowd, but then when we got to the door the old man said he couldn't go any further and wanted a tip. I gave him $2.00 since only one of the bags was mine and the other 5 were for the other couple. So, here I am pushing a HUGE cart with 6 bags, only one of which was mine and I had no idea where this other couple had gotten to. As I'm weaving my way through the ropes I'm trying to plan when to ditch these huge bags and how to do it. I knew they had lots of important equipment since it was for a documentary on Everest, but what in the world was I supposed to do? Right before I had to enter the building for initial bag screening the couple came running up to me. They had gotten lost and finally figured out what was going on, then had to back track to find me. They were very embrassed and thankful to me. The rest of the airport proceedures went without a hitch. Wait, line up, wait, line up, etc.

My seat mates to Seoul were a med student and nurse from Austrailia that were headed to Mongolia. She, the med student, had been working in Nepal for 6 weeks. He worked some and played a bunch, earning his paragliders licence in the process. They were very interested in the states, she kept asking if I lived where the houses had big columns and spanish moss.

I got to Seoul about 1:00am and found a nice empty gate area to spread out in and try to sleep. I talked to Mom on Facetime then napped a little. I think I slept about 2 hours. On the flight to ATL I slept very little, maybe an hour. Finally I got to CLT and Gary and the boys were there to meet me! It was so wonderful to see them all! After a hot shower, a good dinner I hit the bed by 8:00 last night. I am somewhat rested, but hope to go to bed early tonight also. We took Grandma Dinah to the airport this afternoon. I certainly couldn't have enjoyed my trip without knowing she was going to be here to help out. I know Gary really appreciated her this last week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

I made it to base camp!
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Boger Steve made it to Everest!
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

The trail back to Phorte. That Tengboche on the other side of the valley. Notice that we are higher than it.
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

the "squatter"
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

The entire group!


6th November 2012

WOW
Hey! Congrats!!!! I had a lot of fun following your blog. I'm glad I wasn't there! hahaha You should be very proud of yourself...the pictures are beautiful!!! The trip of a life time. I'm sure your crew is happy to have you home. Welcome home. Love, Jane
6th November 2012

Glad you are home.
Crystal, Thanks for sharing your journey, I enjoyed ever blog you posted. !

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb