Out and About - Early Days


Advertisement
Published: August 10th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Exploring my surrounds - a couple of outdoor local shopping areas with the usual layout ie shops mainly around the perimeter facing the parking spaces in the middle of the whole complex with trees and lovely garden beds, here and there. In fact, trees, garden beds and lush green belts are in constant view wherever we drive and create refreshing beauty in the urban spaces. Didn't need to use the stand alone drive-through ATM as we were walking. Hah! Enjoyed a tasty lunch and generously-sized cold drinks at a local franchise then visited a supermarket which would take me hours to peruse if I gave in......which I don't.....much.... Anyway, there are many varieties of....everything!!!!. Supermarket shopping has certainly turned into an 'experience' and there are a few other supermarkets like this one so 'popping out quickly to the supermarket' anymore, doesn't work. It is a destination........almost. And I can just head on down to my supermarket for a glass of chilled wine and something to eat eg a piece of hot pizza, if I fancy. Found those distinctly American lolly packets and tried some having never eaten any before. They are soft and sweet with a texture akin to eating a Mintie....mushy/chewy???....that has been left in the hot sun on the dash but without the heat and the mint! Otherwise, perhaps it is like a very soft fruit chew. Bought some lovely photo-cards of NC scenes and returned on foot. Interesting fact: cars here only have rego plates on the back although I have seen one car with a plate on the front and it was from another state.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



15th September 2021

Food galore
Oooh I am jealous that you got to eat quesadillas. I also have heard of the classic American taffy hehe
15th September 2021

The quesadillas were very nice and I am still making my way through some taffy we bought in Saluda in the Blue Ridge Mountains. It is an interesting texture and quite soft. Thanks for your commentsXX.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb