Traveling Light


Advertisement
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The thing about traveling alone is that it forces you to look at thing differently.
It rained hard during the drive east until I came close to the coast. I have missed the reserved ferry ride this evening and now forced to camp here at Cedar Island. After checking in and paying $15 fee, I parked the van and checked out the toilet facility as well as the ferry that I’ll be on tomorrow morning.

Living out of the van is an interesting experience. Officially homeless, I dined on French bread with salami and American cheese that I picked up at Wal Mart before leaving civilization. As the early summer evening by the coast providing plenty of daylight for reading, I cracked open a beer and settled down with a book.

The morning came early but then I did go to bed before my normal time. I changed the ferry reservation and caught the 7 AM ride across inlet.

There is freedom in expecting no more than what is given. The day slows down to your pace and time stretches out like a rubber band that has been soaked in gasoline. Everything is different yet the same, but still you look as if searching for your long lost soul. Still you look, but do you see?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb