Autumn in Asheville


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » North Carolina » Asheville
October 24th 2013
Published: November 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a work week in Atlanta, Ken picked me up at the Asheville airport. We kept our routine and went to Avenue M for dinner. We usually get the scallop special, but it came with grits this week (each week they have a different variety), so we got the roasted chicken dinner and split it. We both got a salad. There was a family of 5 (mom, dad, 3 boys) in a booth near us. I should be used to seeing kids at restaurants out of control, no manners but it still is disturbing to me. Is this part of the new generation? No discipline, no respect, no manners, do what you want. So sad to me. We enjoyed our dinner and headed back to the RV. It was cold. I love this fireplace in the RV, it's so cozy. We watched a little TV and then read our books.

On Friday morning we slept in and then had our breakfast by the fire. We headed out to the Town Square at Biltmore Park to browse. We went in to the REI store. We looked at the kayaks and got a lesson from one of the workers. We enjoy kayaking and may buy some when we settle down. (When will that be?). It is very windy and about 50 degrees, at least the sun is out. We went to Barnes and Noble. I found another 'Grandmother Memory book' to replace the one I left in a rental car. I now have to start over!! I didn't have a lot completed but enough to make it upsetting. I called the car company right away, but they didn't find it. We then went to Travenia Italian Kitchen for lunch. I had a salad with shrimp, Ken had soup and salad. We then went to O.P. Taylor's toy store. It was a great toy store. We stopped at Earth Fare grocery store before heading back to the RV. Dinner was grilled cod and asparagus. We watched the movie 'Dan in Real Life'. Ken swears we have seen it before, but I haven't. I thought it was pretty good. Afterwards, I began reading a new book I got: Becoming Oydessa. It's about a girl who hikes the entire Appalachian Trail. it's really good.

On Saturday we drove in to downtown Asheville. It's very crowded, probably because it is another beautiful sunny autumn day. The wind has stopped and the temperature is about 56. We went to 'Wicked Weed' for lunch. We had to wait awhile to get a table outside. We were finally seated. There are so many dogs here-it is ridiculous. I don't apologize by saying I think it is stupid to bring your dog to a restaurant. There are at least 6 dogs in an area for about 40 guests. They are barking, trying to get at one another. One lady is feeding her dog mussels from the table. The dog is crunching the shells, making a sloppy mess. Honestly- your dog will be fine if you leave it at home; probably much happier-it doesn't have to smell the food. How did they survive for so many years NOT going to restaurants? Ugh! Afterwards we drove on the Blue Ridge Parkway for awhile-very beautiful. We took some back roads, headed back to camp. On the way we saw some signs for land for sale. We ventured back and ended up calling on a secluded lot-and it was $80,000 for 1.9 acres. I bit high! The World Series was on so we watched the game and then went to bed.

Sunday was a lazy day. It was windy and cloudy so we stayed put most of the day. I worked on my photo books. I am making one for Lola for 'Summer 2013'. We watched baseball again. I'm going to miss this when it is over.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.3kb