“What was he thinking bringing a blanket up here?!”


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
April 11th 2014
Published: April 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I’m happy to say that the weather has somewhat stabilized but, it’s still “April in the Bronx, a***hole”, (more on that later).

I went to one of the America’s oldest cities; Philadelphia. I’m not sure what I expected but I definitely didn’t think much of it. At this point, I should remind you that I am very critical of cities that do not offer high level of convenience and have a strong middle aged community. Living in New York; you become so used to the fast pace and convenience, it can lead to a miniature culture shock when you go out of state, leading to cravings to return to the Big Apple for all its guts and glory.

I imagine that missing my train to Philly, probably set the day trip on the wrong footing. Anyway; arriving into Philly we headed for the famous Rocky steps. They are impressive! I would recommend going to Philly simply to see and run up the steps. Only thing was the art museum, which is where Rocky is heading to in the film, had an exhibition on Korea. The museum decided to put up a gigantic banner with ‘Korea’ printed on it. This was in the backdrop of all of the photos; they have ruined a moment for me.

Then we headed to Liberty Bell.

When I go to basketball games or such like my bag is usually checked and scanned for security, but I expect this in most parts of the world. However, visiting the Liberty Bell; the international symbol of peace and liberty, apparently, involves a strange security search whereby you lift you jacket up and turnaround, and get shouted out for crossing roads between the Bell building and another Bell building (eye roll). This is all to see a bell! Of course, you can tell I found the bell underwhelming. Also, I found the description of the history of the Bell, a load of mambo jambo. Choice idiotic phrase; the bell the symbol of peace, as it expands in circumference this symbolizes the expansion of liberty. I thought bells need to be wider at the bottom to be bells and create sounds etc, otherwise they would just be boxes or upside down cups??

Other famed area in South Philly; is the hood. We were bopping our heads to the theme tune of Fresh Prince. I found a basketball court; there were no “couple of guys, shooting some bball”. I suppose you can’t have it all. After having some chilli, I was very much ready to leave Philly. Of course, as I start to dream of being back in New York, we miss the bus to Philly twice.

1) When we were waiting in a queue (like good Brits) and the bus coordinator lady said, “no more seats on the bus!”.

2) Then as I wait and look around I notice there are Greyhound graphics everywhere – <em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">enter my brain:

<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">“Why are there so many Greyhound graphics and buses? I don’t have a Greyhound bus ticket?...

<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">

<em style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal;">I have a crappy Chinatown bus ticket, but this is Filbert Street…”

The bus pick up point is down an alley, and we missed our bus and the last bus was at 10.30pm. I went to Hard Rock Cafe for some consoling chocolate cake.

Some more travel faffing later; we got home at 2am, and that was Philadelphia.

Last night; I went to Yankees vs Red Sox, I thought I would give baseball another go and see one of the biggest sporting rivalry. The evening was fun; I saw Jeter score a home run and was able to sit and listen to some good old fan bashing. Mainly Yankees torturing one lone Boston fan with a Red Sox blanket. They hated the blanket and they told him so, because its "April in the Bronx, throw your blanket away." Other interesting comments; Red Sox come out to bat; someone shouted "you're a horrible human being", a consistent arsehole chant for Ortiz from the Red Sox.

Baseball is still a difficult sport to feign interest in, but this particular game with the fans amped up for opening week made for a really good atmosphere. Though, for me Nets are my team and basketball is my sport. Nets are playing Hawks tonight, but the real news is they beat the Heat by one point and are in the playoffs.

Spring is finally here; and I am ready to get me some vitamin D.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb