The Dreaded Flight!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 27th 2013
Published: August 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Nice early breakfast at The Holiday Inn and quick taxi ride to Terminal 5 Mike our super efficient tour guide prepared to check us in but Jackie was selected for random security checks so we had to go to a special desk. We were called to board and again Jackie was pulled aside for a body search.. lol I was dying to take a pic but thought better of it as security is not a place for frivolity.. still I heard she told the young man frisking her that he had missed a bit (joke .. yes it was a woman).. we sat in row 50 at the back of the plane and were due to take off at one but some idiots didn't show and there cases had to be taken off so it was ten to two before we got off the ground.. I watched a movie and it was ok for the first few hours.. i was please with myself for my forward planning and having things to do ..until disaster struck and the guy in front of me suddenly reclined his chair and I reacted fast and my headphone jack snapped clean off on the socket... my new expensive,specially chosen, Blaupunkt noise reducing headphones were broken.. This was the start of the long five hours until we arrived at NY. I never travel well and hate public toilets so flying is never my cup of tea.. I always seem to find the broken seat and this was no exception.. my light didn't work and my tray table came off in my hands.. I had taken water pills and used flight socks but my knee was tight and painful and my BA headphones were miles too big and slipped down way past my ears so I couldn't make use of the in flight entertainment.. we had a few pockets of turbulance and Martin and I do not make good travelling companions about 2 stone of his body weight spilled over into my seat and my bag of goodies and flight pillow were getting on his nerves...we tend to get very ratty with each other.. as my fidgeting due to my knee pain annoys him... unlike Jackie who looked a picture of serenity with her legs across Mike's lap snoozing away... still it's over before you know it and the dreaded immigration queues at NY were a doddle.. through and into the taxi Mike had booked (fair play he is super efficient...) and on our way to Best Western... mmm

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb