Wow Where did the last 3 days go?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York » New York » Manhattan
August 27th 2013
Published: August 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's 8 am... or so my laptop has just told me ( it speaks the hours) but my body clock is all over the place... its 03 a.m. here it feels like I haven't slept since Saturday morning, after the music at a family party and Martin finally coming to bed at about four in the morning after his usual late night chats with his Sister (they are night owls), then as soon as his head its the pillow he starts snoring so I think I slept for about two hours then before getting up ready to meet the kids for Sunday lunch. Thought I would catch up on the coach to Heathrow but not like back in the day when you could crash across the seats, they have the moulded single seats separated by a hard awkward seat rest and seat belt and a belt that feels like a snake trying to crush you so no sleep on the coach for me... Martin sat behind and slept the whole way.

The journey wasn't too long and the Holiday Inn was a welcome sight it was Jackie's birthday and we ordered a taxi and went to a little place I had found on the web just a few miles from Heathrow... RECOMMENDATION ALERT... The Golden Cross Poyle Road 5 mind in a taxi walking distance if you are staying at the Hilton and the food was superb. We talked about our weekends.. J&M had been to a wedding and had a fabulous time... best Jackie had ever been to and it sounded amazing.. it was the perfect evening I had hope for.. good food a long tall (if slightly over dressed) Pimms and a bloody good laugh as usual... I told them how I had bought my new camera and the assistant had given me the wrong memory card and so we had to go all the way back to sort it out.. now PC World and Currys are next to each other and I price matched to get my little Canon at the web price I wanted. I had prepared my rant which went something like...Good Morning.. I'd like to see the Manager please.. then he comes over and I say.. "This face is not a happy face... your young assistant (who I made sure to praise for his friendliness and attitude and good customer service ) sold me the wrong sd card and I have not been able to take photos at a family party or stay for brunch because I had to travel all the way back here... rant moan whinge.. you get the drift..) The Manager in PC World listened , apologised and looked at my receipt.. and in a most helpful tone suggested I popped next door to Currys where I purchased it from... exit slightly red faced to see Scott sat in the car looking perplexed.. I mouthed across the car park "Oops wrong shop" and he put his head in his hands with that Oh Mother what are you like? expression, relieved he hadn't come in with me. i sort of new then that I was at the age when the parent/child relationship takes a role reversal.. still my "this is not a happy face did get me a big apology and two micro sd cards in the end!!!



Anyway after a nice meal eaten a bit too late we went back to the hotel and settled down for the night slept for a few hours at most as i had eaten too much and we kept rolling together

extra special treat for Martin ( my family will understand this) the bathroom was illuminated with little blue lights!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb