After the worlds


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New York
August 7th 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Now where should I start ....

Next day after the competition we drove to Orlando where some kids visited Harry Potter World which, I believe, is part of universal studios.

I went shopping and caught up with my friend who is performing in a cirque du soleil show in Orlando. Cam, Ellie, felix, lulu, maya, all the parents and I went to see the show from 6pm. (need to get some photos off them) my friends who are skippers in the show kindly took us to the back stage after the show. Oh, the show was fantastic by the way.

Next day felix's family and I went back to Tampa where felix and I marched in the opening ceremony of the fisac world championships. It was fab. We made new friends- Swedish skippers. I reckon that Swedish is the cutest language ever. Sorry French. You are too yesterday. (oops sorry Georges)

August 5th I flew to New York. I am now staying at Novotel which is half a block away from David letterman late show studio where the famous 'broadway' sign is. I can see times square from my hotel room. How cool is that!

I caught up with louis, Fintan, Charly and Bec as well as their parents in west village. Employees only is the name of the restaurant which is just impossible to find. There is no sign of the place and the window has this neon light says 'psychic'. I was told to come to 510 Hudson st and nearest crossing road was 10th ave. I saw this psychic sign so freaked out then asked a lady from a cafe where the restaurant was. She told me to walk about two blocks. Then I asked another person again then she told me to walk back two blocks. Oh well NYC is more complicated than expected.

Today (6th) I started with MoMA which I really enjoyed. I don't usually love so called modern art but some of them were quite amazing. And if you find they own van gogh's 'starry nighy' you got to be excited. Their special exhibition called 'century of the children's design' was brilliant. I had almost bought the catalogue but realised that it was going to be too heavy to take it home.

I caught a subway to ground zero/ WTC. I could not get in the memorial as there were too many people. Hope I will visit there someday. I know someone had my name died there. RIP.

As I had enough time, I walked down to the wharf to catch a ferry to liberty island where the green lady is standing. No not the wicked witch. Yep statue of liberty. She was fantastic. I have done the statue of selfie there.

On my way back to hotel I popped in one of the theatres to buy a ticket. Monday is usually dark for most of the theatres but not Mamma Mia! Last minute ticket but 7th row bang in the middle. It was fabulous. The actress who was Donna in the musical was phenomenal.

Tomorrow - maybe MET.



Good night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb